Serial Killer: David Maust – killed at least 5 young boys; Sentenced to LWOP

Victims
James McClister, 13 [1974 Germany] (no picture)
Donald Jones, 15 [1981 IL] (no picture)
James Raganyi, 16 [2003 Hammond, IN]
Michael Christopher Dennis, 13 [2003 Hammond, IN]
Nick James, 19 [2003 Hammond, IN]

Find-A-Grave: James Ryan Raganyi
Find-A-Grave: Michael Christopher Dennis Jr.
Maust pleads innocent to murder
Slain teen’s family pledges to push for death penalty
Serial Slay Suspect’s Mom Speaks
David Maust pleads guilty to murdering three Hammond teens
Kills once, kills twice, asks to stay in prison
Indiana man sentenced to life in prison for teens’ murders
Maust didn’t receive what he clearly earned: death penalty
David Maust
David Maust: Inside the Mind of a Serial Killer
David Maust
Authorities: Man who killed 3 teens, buried them, commits suicide
David Maust’s murder victims
Murderpedia: David Edward Maust
Wikipedia: David Edward Maust

Podcasts
True Crime Garage: Bodies in the Basement

Books
Blood Stained: When No One Comes Looking


David Edward Maust

5 Responses

  1. Hey…Just doing a people search on family members and came across your blogg when I Googeled the name. VERY CREAPY !!!! The name “Maust” is a family name that has about 1,500 members in the U.S., and I never knew that there was a convicted SEARIAL KILLER in the bunch…now THAT has to be one of the darkest “Family Secrets” that I have ever heard of.
    Anyway, guess its true, you can’t hide from the internet.

    Like

    • There’s at least one convicted child molester, as well. My brother, Stacey James Maust, molested his daughters, was jailed, got out, and molested a neighbor’s kid.

      I feel deeply sorry for the children my brothers were, who were themselves badly abused and neglected. I weep for the pain they suffered – I know they were utterly let down by their parents and ‘the system’ designed to protect them. I wish someone had seen what was happening in our home and done something to remove – , hell, remove all four of us. But there is no going back. Those poor boys are long gone and what happens to people as kids cannot be used to excuse choices made as an adult – his little girls trusted and needed him and he hurt them so badly. I remember his daughter Celeste cuddling with him, loving him so purely and unthinkingly, as every little girl should be able to do and I will never forgive myself for not trusting my instincts and trying to snatch her before he could get at her. I remember the way he looked at her and I know he loved her – I cannot understand how he convinced himself that what he did was OK.
      somehow.

      Like

    • Are you still out there? If so, respond here and maybe we can start a diologue.

      Like

  2. All of this from rotten.com’s library entry on David Maust then didn’t even link them. Wow.

    Like

  3. I worked with Dave, and I was Nick’s sponcer, I hooked Nick up with the job at trophies R us not knowing I put him in harms way. I’m so sorry Nick.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.