Movies Based on True Stories: Black Widower *Roberta “Bobbie” Amos murder*

dv awareness

Find-A-Grave: Roberta J. “Bobbie” Wagner Amos
Roberta “Bobbie” Amos murder 12/10/94 Detroit, MI
Movies Based On True Stories Database: Black Widower (GREAT site)
Man Leaves Trail of 3 Dead Wives
Murderpedia: Lowell Edwin Amos
Wikipedia: Lowell Edwin Amos
Amos case basis for Lifetime movie
Local Murder To Be Portrayed In Movie

Movies/Documentaries
Black Widower
Pandora’s Box: Unleashing Evil: Married to Death
New Detectives: Bad Medicine

INMATE INFORMATION

LowellAmos prison mug

MDOC Number: 252661
SID Number: 1832430H
Name: LOWELL EDWIN AMOS
Racial Identification: White
Gender: Male
Hair: Gray
Eyes: Blue
Height: 6′ 1″
Weight: 200 lbs.
Date of Birth: 01/04/1943 (71)

MDOC STATUS
Current Status: Prisoner
Earliest Release Date: LIFE
Assigned Location: Lakeland Correctional Facility
Maximum Discharge Date: LIFE
Security Level: II

ALIASES MARKS, SCARS & TATTOOS
None
None

PRISON SENTENCES
ACTIVE
Sentence 1
Offense: Murder, First Degree
Minimum Sentence: LIFE
MCL#: 750.316
Maximum Sentence: LIFE
Court File#: 96197501
Date of Offense: 12/10/1994
County: Wayne
Date of Sentence: 11/04/1996
Conviction Type: Jury

Sentence 2
Offense: Murder, First Degree
Minimum Sentence: LIFE
MCL#: 750.316
Maximum Sentence: LIFE
Court File#: 96197501
Date of Offense: 12/10/1994
County: Wayne
Date of Sentence: 11/04/1996
Conviction Type: Jury

11 Responses

  1. Ed Amos Was my Supervisor in 1977 & 78 at Guide Lamp Div of General Motors.At Anderson, Indiana I also knew Carolyn his second Wife very well . Sometime during the period between 1978 and 1989 Amos also ran for Mayor of the City of Anderson Pop. of around 78,000 , he dropped out of the race before the election.

    Bill Tankersley

    Like

  2. Ed Amos is my dad’s cousin, Neil Amos. I have never met Ed, but have heard about him.

    Like

  3. I just watched the true story on Lifetime about Ed Amos Black Widower,, I just want to say that I am looking at a pic of the real Ed Amos,, and wow they really went out on a limb here,, the person who played him looks NOTHING like him!!! WOW,, the actor was a good looking man,, this guys looks nothing like anyone that could have charmed a single woman!! I guess time and murder does that to a persons looks!!

    Like

    • Heather- He was a good looking young man in high school & even better when he became a man. I went to school with him & I worked at Inland Fisher Guide with him. He always had women fall all over themselves. The prision picture is what I hoped he looked like now…he deserves it….no more rich lifestyle.

      Like

  4. Bobbie was my first cousin. She is greatly missed by our family and this movie did absolutely no justice to this story. Bobbie was portrayed as not having any children, when indeed she has a son that turned 13 just one week after her death.
    Her Mother, my Aunt, was portrayed as having no other children and being single. My Aunt has been married for 50 plus years and has two other children. She was surrounded by family and friends during this trial.
    In addition, Bobbie was not a drug user and was adamantly against drugs. She was not willing to take Ed back even had she not died. This event was to be the last event they would ever attend together.

    Like

    • Many times a movie changes things to protect the family. It is best the rest of the world doesn’t know Bobbie had any children or names so they don’t bother bother him. The same for her siblings. It is tragic when sociopaths take people’s lives without a second thought and the survivors left to grieve.

      Like

  5. I as well, worked with Bobbi, Marie, and Ed. Bobbi’s ex-husband and her sister also worked at Guide . His first wife, Saundra, was my teacher at Anderson HS. The comment by Heather is true..they went waayyy out on a limb, because Ed is not attractive. I worked in Accounting with Bobbi and she was the nicest person. I was leery when she married him knowing that his previous wives had passed away.

    Like

  6. Saundra was my high school English teacher when Ed killed her.. She was a wonderful woman.

    I also knew Amos’ mother, who also was a teacher. She taught Special Education at Greenbriar Elementary School years ago/

    Like

  7. He was also suspected of killing his mother after the other murders came to light.

    Like

  8. When I was in high school I had two dates with Eddie Amos. They were not fun – he basically hung with his buddies and I overheard some things he said about me that I did not like. That ended that. When I married in 1964, Saundra Heard (his first wife) was one of my bridesmaids and we were good friends. I also knew Caroline his second wife. I was long gone from Anderson when my mother would fill me in on what was happening around him. She also told me that most people in Anderson were sure he had also killed his mother. He had a long run as the man about town in Anderson and a high style of living before he was finally sent to prison. He always seemed to be looking over his shoulder for a better deal – whether it was a date, a friend to lie for him, or another insurance policy that he could collect on. I don’t like the idea that he should be remembered by a movie about his life but I am thrilled that he is in prison for life. I also wish I had Saundra back as a friend.

    Like

  9. Was it worth it Amos
    Gutless piece of shit
    Years in a poxy little cell now
    Good riddance

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.