  • This Day in Crime History

    Kim Marie Swann

    November 9: 1984: Kim, 21, was raped and killed in Tampa, FL by serial killer, Bobby Joe Long, who now resides on FL death row.

  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Goodreads

  • Social Media

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,609 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc. 3-No comments in ALL CAPS, or CoMeNtS. They are rude and difficult to read. I have had many complaints about it so no more. 4-Comments must be in English only and easy to read (meaning no text language, shortening words, etc.). Have respect for those who don't do text messaging or other lingo. 5 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS. If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).

Calyx Powers and Beau Powers Schenecker murders 1/28/2011 Tampa, FL *Mother, Julie Schenecker, killed both teens because they “were mouthy”*


Calyx Powers and Beau Powers Schenecker

Facebook: Official Calyx & Beau Schenecker Memorial
Tampa Palms teen siblings memorialized
Mother Shoots Her Two Teens To Death Because They Were Too Mouthy (GREAT post – a lot of information)
Bond denied for Florida mom charged in kids’ deaths
Julie Powers Schenecker Weeps in Court, Bail Denied in Murders of Daughter Calyx and Son Beau
Judge denies bail for Julie Powers Schenecker, accused of killing her children
Father of teens returns home
Tampa Mom Julie Schenecker Was Probed for Child Abuse in Fall, But Not Charged
Teen told Tampa police in November that her mother abused her
Schenecker emails show woman who had lost control
Jury: Julie Schenecker guilty of first-degree murder
Jurors say Julie Schenecker’s murder journal sealed her fate
Wikipedia: Schenecker double homicide
Convicted killer Julie Schenecker speaks for first time since murder convictions
Child killer Julie Schenecker reveals secret that destroyed her family
‘I saved them’: Military mom breaks her silence to say she has no regrets about shooting dead her two teen children in 2011
Kids Allegedly Killed by Mom ‘Knew They Were Loved’
Murderpedia: Julie Powers Schenecker

Books
Sleep My Darlings: The true story of a mother who killed her children in cold blood

INMATE INFORMATION

DC Number: 156489
Name: SCHENECKER, JULIE
Race: WHITE
Sex: FEMALE
Hair Color: BROWN
Eye Color: GREEN
Height: 5’09”
Weight: 181 lbs.
Birth Date: 01/13/1961
Initial Receipt Date: 05/19/2014
Current Facility: LOWELL ANNEX
Current Custody: CLOSE
Current Release Date: SENTENCED TO LIFE

Aliases:
JULIE SCHENECKER
JULIE K SCHENECKER

4 Responses

  1. I think this is so awful. I also think her excuse is a very POOR one as well. I have a 13, 9 , 5 and 16 and half year old. Do you know how many time my 13,9 and 5 year old talked back to me? LOT’S. I just take things away they LOVE. 13 yr = Cell phone, 9 yr = DS and computer, 5 yr = TV or going outside and playing. When they act like they don’t care, I keep it for longer. They DO care then. Around here you can’t slap your child nor do I truly want too but that’s some of my families way because that’s how they were raised. BUT you just can’t do to dcf, dss (whatever it’s called where you live) BUT on the other hand you CAN’T let the child control you either. But no way shape or form am I going to shoot my child for talking back to me. She took her kids life but was to much of a coward to pull the trigger on herself. Just another poor excuse for a human once again. R.I.P. Children, God Bless you. My heart goes out to this family and the dad of these children.

  2. […] rest is here: Calyx Powers and Beau Powers Schenecker murders 1/28/2011 Tampa … Filed Under: Uncategorized Comments: Be the First to […]

  3. This took place in my home city and, for some reason, that made it all the more shocking. It’s hard to believe that a mother can kill her own children, but it’s happening more and more frequently. It is beyond my understanding.

  4. I must agree with you Cube. I watch Nancy Grace and I see it EVERY night. A new case of a child murdered by his/her mother/father or mother’s boyfriend etc. It’s so awful. I heard Nancy say “And the mother’s defend these men” I laughed because IF that happened to me, (Knock on wood) I WOULD NEVER DEFEND HIM. I’d be the mother who’d be jumping over the benches to punch the sh*t out of him. And I’d pray to god he’d get what’s coming to him in prison. God bless all these children being taken away for NO REASON AT ALL.

Leave a Reply

