  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,310 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc. 3-No comments in ALL CAPS, or CoMeNtS. They are rude and difficult to read. I have had many complaints about it so no more. 4 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS. If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).

Curry Family murder 8/29/1985 Columbus, GA *Michael Curry convicted of the ax murders of his wife and children*

dvawareness3

Curry family

Victims
Ann Curry, 24
Erika Curry, 4
Ryan Curry, 20-months

Man Charged in 1985 Bush-Ax Killings of Wife and Children
Dalton School Employee Charged with 1985 Murders
Man charged in 1985 ax killing of wife, children
Behind the Curry story
Man charged in 1985 killings of wife and children
Detective in 1984 bush-ax slaying finds solace
New Columbus DA a key figure in ax murder cold case
Jury selection underway in 26 year old murder case
Another woman from Michael Curry’s past takes the stand
A look back at the Michael Curry trial
Michael Curry found guilty of murder
Curry trial
Curry v The State 2012

INMATE INFORMATION

Michael Curry prison mug

CURRY, MICHAEL LEE
GDC ID: 1000623645

PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION
YOB: 1958
RACE: WHITE
GENDER: MALE
HEIGHT: 5’08”
WEIGHT: 209
EYE COLOR: GREEN
HAIR COLOR: SLT&PEP
SCARS, MARKS, TATTOOS

INCARCERATION DETAILS

MAJOR OFFENSE: MURDER
MOST RECENT INSTITUTION: WARE STATE PRISON
MAX POSSIBLE RELEASE DATE: LIFE

ACTUAL RELEASE DATE: CURRENTLY SERVING
CURRENT STATUS: ACTIVE
KNOWN ALIASES

A.K.A. CURRY,MICHAEL
A.K.A. CURRY,MICHAEL LEE
STATE OF GEORGIA – CURRENT SENTENCES

CASE NO: 742701
OFFENSE: MURDER
CONVICTION COUNTY: MUSCOGEE COUNTY
CRIME COMMIT DATE: 08/29/1985
SENTENCE LENGTH: NOT AVAILABLE

CASE NO: 742701
OFFENSE: MURDER
CONVICTION COUNTY: MUSCOGEE COUNTY
CRIME COMMIT DATE: 08/29/1985
SENTENCE LENGTH: NOT AVAILABLE

CASE NO: 742701
OFFENSE: MURDER
CONVICTION COUNTY: MUSCOGEE COUNTY
CRIME COMMIT DATE: 08/29/1985
SENTENCE LENGTH: NOT AVAILABLE
STATE OF GEORGIA – PRIOR SENTENCES

STATE OF GEORGIA – INCARCERATION HISTORY

INCARCERATION BEGIN 10/27/2011
INCARCERATION END ACTIVE

20 Responses

  1. You could have knocked me over with a feather when I heard about the arrest of Michael Curry. My family and I went to church with this man for several years. He seemed to be such a good Christian man. I thought his family was killed by a drunk driver. I felt so sorry for him. Now to hear this…… If he killed his family he deserves death. I guess you never really know people.

    • You don’t sound like such a good Christian yourself, wishing death upon another person. You must be the average American churchgoer.

      • Eat shit, Tom!! This S.O.B. put an axe through his own children’s skull! Who are you to judge anyone, you crank!

  2. I too have been knocked over with a feather. (with my only family members)… when you think you know people. I remember when this horrible incident transpired. It was that… just horrible. I hope that his trial will be held in Columbus, or the close vicinity, because I will be in the court room. I want answers.. to alot of questions.

  3. I lived and worked with him during the summer for a couple of years. I do not believe he had anything to do with the crime.

  4. I remember the day this happened. Mr. Johnson, Ann Currys dad, was my math teacher. This family has suffered and i hope they can find justice and peace.

  5. I remember this story my mom and her friends helped get the people to reopen this case. His house was also right behind my old school!but that is all i’m aloud to say

  6. I’m from alabama and i remember this i hope somebody is found guilty i’m not the one to judge but somebody is very guilty and somebody other than micheal curry knows something

  7. I googled Ann Curry’s murder because Ann’s murder had been on my mind and I wanted to compare an actual picture of her to the picture I have embedded in my mind. Ann was a coworker. She was one of the sweetest persons that I have known. She and I both had daughters named Erika. As I knew her, she was a great coworker, a wonderful daughter and a loving Mother and wife. Almost all of Ann’s conversation was about her family. I no longer live in Columbus, so when I did my google search, I had no idea that Michael Curry had been arrested. If he had anything to do with these murders, I hope that he will admit it and tell the whole truth.

  8. On that day I lived directly across the street. I was 14 years old and we were driving back from (was is Winn Dixie ?).
    Police cars and and ambulance came roaring down the road from behind us, as we were driving back to the neighborhood from the store.
    They zoomed around us and sped into OUR neighborhood. My two sisters were home alone and so we thought they may be in trouble.
    We tailed the ambulance and police car as they made a direct route to MY street and came to a halt where there was a full crime scene developing. People were gathering at the street. People, cops, were streaming in and out of the house, my neighbors house.
    Mom came to a quick halt and I quickly ran from the car into our house to make sure the girls were ok. I opened the door so quickly to OUR house, that both of their heads swiveled around to see who came rushing through the front door. Thankfully they were oblivious to the scene outside. They were simply watching tv in the front rooml.
    Numerous Fire, Police and Ambulances. Many people were standing across the street under a big leafy tree as it started to drizzle rain. Probably about 50 people were gathered watching to see what would happen.
    Eventually they started bringing out bags, BODY BAGS. I seem to remember that the bags were slightly opaque and vaguely see-through. You could see blood smeared inside the bag. It was truly ghastly.
    When we learned that two little children and a pregnant Mom were butchered with a “bush axe”, it was really weird. Apparently they suspected the husband, but by the time we moved to Florida, withing two months later, it was creepy knowing they had made no arrest in the case, so there was an axe-murderer loose in our neighborhood.
    I remember that our nice middle-class neighborhood was a constant stream of moving vans as people made an EXODUS out of the area.
    We moved two months, or so, (actually October 01985, now that I remember it.
    Anyway, I’ve always remembered this and have from time to time wondered if they ever caught the person.
    I can’t believe they now suspect the original guy everyone suspected 25+ years ago. I haven ‘t read the details yet, because I wanted to type this out.

    If ANYBODY reads this and was one of the people standing under that tree that day, I would love to correspond with you about it.

    Anyway, glad I got this out of my system. Now to read the details of the arrest.

    • I always came home from work at around 3:30 pm. I have to ride in front of that house to get to mine. I noticed nothing different. But at about 5:30 or so I heard someone screaming up and down the street, “why did they kill them, etc., etc. I went out for a second and went back inside the house to wait on my husband to come from work because we were going out to eat because it was our anniversary. It was raining a little bit and we had to stop the car and could not leave the neighborhood because the street was blocked. We remain in the car looking at the house. We saw the body bags being taken out of the house and afterwards, the detective coming out with the bush ax. What I saw that day remained in my head all of this time. That was August. Later, the month of December, we went to eat at Burger King on Macon Road and right next to us on the other booth was Michael Curry holding hands with a very young girl. My son told me she was one of the students at his high school. Sad to see a man that just lost his entire family in August holding hand with a young girl in December! How quickly he forgot! I am glad he is doing time now.

  9. I was in elementary school at Waddell Elementary school when this happened and me and other children SAW the murderer run through the woods behind the school that backs up to the neighborhood. Michael Curry was NOT the man I saw!!! His atorney called me a couple of years ago and I told him what I saw. He was the only person that EVER contacted me about this.

    • If you have this knowledge, you should have called the detectives on this case. You can’t just expect them to know that you have this information. And the defense does not have to tell the police or prosecution anything.

      • My mother did at the time, and I did years later after the story came back up and they acted VERY unintrested.

        • They never replied back to me. Acted like I was just a kid and didn’t know what I saw. I don’t know what other parents did at the time who had children who saw the same thing.

          • Please leave me a comment with your name and phone number (it will not be approved,so the public won’t see it) and I will see what I can do to get someone to talk to you.

  10. Does anyone know anything about an affair he had?…. With someone named Linda?…. My husband’s mother.. Before she died in. February left us a phone message saying she was involved in the Curry murders… She said she knew what was going to happen… And that she is terrified… So, we Google this (as we had no clue what she was talking about) & find the picture of him… My husband’s whole life he was never told who his father is and his family has gone through great (and I mean extreme) lengths of hiding and avoiding this subject… Anyways, my husband looks very (very) similar to this man, Michael Curry…. Among other weird things that happened – his family spontaneously moved to Hawaii when he was a baby, his original birth certificate was “lost”, his name was changed….. His mother was absolutely crazy without a doubt and died of a heroin overdose. She was obsessed with conspiracy theories and such, but….. I still wonder about this…..

  11. Could Michael Curry be his father or was Linda just completely insane?

  12. The message said that she “helped solve the Curry murders” and that’s why she contacted my husband after not speaking (or even knowing if she was alive) for 11 years!!! He was raised by his grandparents from a young age and they all assumed she was dead….

  13. I believe he is innocent. I lived with him for about 10 years and I was never even brought in to testify on his behalf. He was married to my mother for 8 years and was amazing to her and me. My mother passed of cancer in 04 and while she was sick he everything he possibly could for her. So I still don’t believe he did it nor will I ever and I also don’t believe he was given a fair trial.

Leave a Reply

