  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,120 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    4 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


Denver New Year’s shooting *Pedro Cortez pled guilty, sentenced to 20 years in prison*

Angelica and Becky

Victims
Angelica Martinez
Becky Yanez Pena

Shooting Victim Had ‘A Heart To Help Anybody’
Colorado Police Arrest Suspect in Single Bullet Killing of Woman, Girl at New Year’s Eve Party
Police Arrest Suspect In Double Homicide
Arrest Made In New Year’s Day Double Shooting
Police: Double-Shooting was Murder
Suspect arrested in New Year’s double homicide
Single Bullet Fired Into Colorado Home Kills Woman, Girl at New Year’s Eve Party
Single Bullet Kills Two In New Year’s Eve Shooting
Police: Single Bullet Killed Woman & Girl
Police say single bullet killed 2 in New Year shooting
Woman, Child Killed by Single Bullet
Suspect charged in New Year’s deaths
Experts: Pistol doesn’t fit crime
Guilty plea in Denver deaths on New Year’s
Denver man sentenced to 20 years for deadly revelry

INMATE INFORMATION

Pedro Cortez prison mug

Name: CORTEZ, PEDRO
Age: 33
Ethnicity: HISPANIC
Gender: MALE
Hair Color: BLACK
Eye Color: BROWN
Height: 5′ 09″
Weight: 185
DOC Number: 105838
Est. Parole Eligibility Date: 01/29/2016
Next Parole Hearing Date:
This offender is scheduled on the Parole Board agenda for the month and year above. Please contact the facility case manager for the exact date.
Est. Mandatory Release Date: 12/16/2025
Est. Sentence Discharge Date:
Current Facility Assignment: COLORADO STATE PENITENTIARY

CURRENT CONVICTIONS
Sentence Date Sentence County Case No.
08/21/2009 10Y-10Y DENVER 08CR21
08/21/2009 10Y-10Y DENVER 08CR21

28 Responses

  1. This is a beautiful child. RIP and God bless you. Tragic.

  2. Karen,
    Excatly who are you talking to? The only pic on here is the angel Angelica and she is far from ugly. My prayers are with the family of Angelica.

    *note from blog owner*

    The offensive comments from Karen have been removed. Sorry for the delay.

  3. “Karen” you’ve got some problems. I hope we can restrain ourselves to not being as shallow as you when you die. Especially if it’s a violent or unexpected death. Shame on you. I use the word “shame” from back in the days when it actually meant something.

  4. This is a little close to home… Pedro is a close personal friend of mine, and I have watched his children, and drank with his wife… My husband and I were supposed to be at this New Years party, and KNOW that he did not shoot that bullet that killed that beautiful child, and that wonderful woman… He’s getting released and there hasn’t been anything but an arraignment, because the ballistics didn’t match up… I pray for his wife, kids, parents and in-laws who have supported him 100% and we will continue to support and love you, Pete… Much Love and Respect…
    ~L

    • fuck you this is her brother he is a piece of shit fuck him he got 22 year he needs to die in there or should just kill him self

  5. angelica everyone misses you and loves you at our school we talk about you almost everyday and hope you have a good life where you belong!! S2S2

  6. angelica we love you and miss and you will always be with us in our hearts!x0x0x0

  7. angelica even though we didn’t heng out a lot I will still remember u

  8. Angelica wuz very beutifull and karen you have no right to say tat she is ugly if you didnt even know her!!!ANGELICA we love you and miss you and i Will c u later on.

  9. HAPPY BRITHDAY

  10. Angelica even though i don’t know you, you are a pretty girl and ill miss you and you’ll always be in my heart!!!!!!!

  11. Angelica i just wanna tell you that every1 misses you and loves you and i will always remember you love ya….

  12. hey angelica just wanted to wish u a happy late b-day n say thatas soon as i find myold phone i wil keep my promise n give it to u k bye n love you lots n again happy late b-day!!!!!

  13. I love u for who u r.A person who means the world to me. And mean the world to maria n stephine n destiny T n destini G n precious ur MOM n ur DAD n ur grandam n ur cousie n ants n unlces n ur grandap to will want to SAY WE LOVE U N MISS U

    LOVE YA

  14. Hi, the angel in the sky whats up want to tell the angel in the sky hi that angel in the sky her name is ANGELICA MARIE MARTINEZ.

    Love ya Ercilia

  15. ANGELICA We MiSs u SOO MUCH WE LOVE U ALOT…
    uR SOO BEAUTIFUL WE HAVE U IN OUR HEARTS && THINK ABOUT U EVERYDAY… UR NOT UGLY **RIP**

  16. angelica you have grown to be soooo sooo beautyfull i remember you when you we smaller you were just as beautyfull, god sent the earth an angel and you have blessed many people with your presence and god knew it was time for you to go home. angelica it was an honor knowing you and im glad i was blessed with the oppertunity to know at one time!

  17. HI,angelica i just want to tell u that i should had invented u to ma brithday wen u were here will u can still come but u will not be were every1 can see u but thats ku i geuss……………………………………………….. Will i want to say that i love u wit all ma heart so dose every 1 ealsy……………………………………………………… will ma friend told me to tell u that her brother want to go out wit u wen u were here k bye

    LOVE ERCILIA

  18. every1 lost something in this i lost my uncle his son lost a dad and the family ( the bother and sisters of pete not his sorry ass wife ) lost a bother …. Love you alot uncle pete

  19. Angelica…….. u wil always b on our minds n we wil neva 4gt u… u wer sumtin reli special…. ur eyes wer beautiful n ur smile lit up da rum……….. U R ALWAYZ IN OUR HEARTZ!!!!!!! MIZZ U A LOT…..!!!!!!

  20. hey angelica i wanted to tell you that your a special person: SOME PEOPLE HAVE A WOUDERFUL WAY OF PUTTING OTHERS AT EASE……. THEY SAY AND DO THE LITTE THINGS THAT WILL COMFORT AND WILL PLEASE.. THEY HAVE A SPECIAL KIND OF WARMTH, THEY`ER AVICK TO UNDERSTAND, AND WHENEVER THERE IS TROUBLE THEY KLEND A HELPING HAND. THIS WORLD OF OURS IS A BETTER PLACE
    AND HAPPIER FOR….
    BECAUSE THERE
    ARE SOME PEOPLE
    AS WONDEFUL
    AS YOU ARE

    LOVE YOU ALLWAYS ERCILIA RIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    note from blog owner
    Please do not type in ALL CAPS. I usually remove these comments as they are in violation of my comment policy, no matter how relevant they are to the post.

  21. Angelica I miss you so much please god god get me thru this….. We are allways think of you…. we are going to see you tomorrow….thankyou for all your commets and surport everyone…

    Love our Drama Queen Angelica Martinez

    Auntie Norma

  22. hey babe,
    i know we didn’t get to really know each other very well but the few times we spent together were very memoriable and i will never forget you. i know you are one of the many angels watching over our families. i love you and can’t wait to see you when that day comes. I still replay that day in my head i know even though it was horrible and sudden you and my mom are supporting each other and have each other to turn to. You are beautiful and always will be. please say hi and i love you to my mom. Worlds not the same with out you two. i know Pedro Cortez will get what he deserves and im testifying the souls of you two. i love you so much .
    Jeanette

  23. I know that I replied before defending Pete… and its only because we were so close to him and his own children… I have two beautiful girls, 2 and 7…. and I KNOW it would be difficult for me to even fathom a loss of this magnitude for me, much less my family. I moved from Denver shortly after this happened, and I am in awe every time I look back and see the violence that surrounded my family and children even when I THOUGHT I wasn’t doing anything wrong… I feel for Pete, and his daughter, MJ most, but they are both still there to talk to each other, and to smile and say ‘I love you’ to each other… even if through plate glass… I think this child’s family would do anything in their power to get back what they lost that new year’s day, even if just to say goodbye… she wasn’t the only one lost, and wasn’t the only one who’s family was shattered by the STUPIDITY of another, no matter how close to my heart…. I am sorry to all families involved…. there were no winners here, aside from G-D, who has gained more angels in his KINGDOM to look after all of us…
    Many Heartfelt Hugs and ALL my Sympathies, dear ANGELS…
    ~Leslie

  24. Hey there. Angelica I miss u so much And hAppY. LATE b~day gurl everyone still cARes about u. Everything. Want wrong. In my life. Nd I wanted to stop by to say. I love you.

    ^«R.I.P ANGELICA»^

  25. R.i.p Angelica I Miss You So Much Theresz Not A Day That Goesz By Since I Havent Thought About You Or The Fun Times We Had. I Alwaysz Think About And Talk About You. I Still Cant Believe Your Gone =(( Well I Love You Favorite Little Cousin.

  26. Hey there my braty neice just wanted to tell you how much i miss and love you.

  27. know that she has 3 years that we dont have her but we know that she is her with us…
    i was with her in lake middle school and she was always with us during launch and she make us laugh alot and we knw that she always here with us
    all are friends miss her ♥ and we all the people that know u they are gone to miss u alot♥

Leave a Reply

