  • This Day in Crime History

    July 11: 2000: Sandra Tester, 25, was strangled to death and then her mobile home set on fire in Charlotte, NC. Her husband, Jimmy Tester, pled guilty and was sentenced to 12-15 years in prison. He was released on parole 6/8/2013 and ended parole on 3/5/2014.

  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Goodreads

  • Social Media

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,413 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc. 3-No comments in ALL CAPS, or CoMeNtS. They are rude and difficult to read. I have had many complaints about it so no more. 4-Comments must be in English only and easy to read (meaning no text language, shortening words, etc.). Have respect for those who don't do text messaging or other lingo. 5 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS. If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).

Aaron ‘Shorty’ Hall murder 4/12/2007 Crothersville, IN *Garrett Gray, Robert Hendricks and Coleman King pled guilty, sentenced to prison*

aaronchall.jpg
Aaron ‘Shorty’ Hall

Wikipedia: Aaron C. Hall
3 charged in C’ville death
Crothersville: Victim’s family says murder was ‘hate crime’
Who is Aaron Shorty Hall? Read this and you will know…
Perhaps I could describe what I’m feeling right now as “sudden heat.”
Hate Crimes Bill: Aaron Hall
The Aaron Hall Project (has alot of links)
Why won’t the Star cover the hate crime killing of Aaron Hall
Indiana Man Murdered Because of Gay Advances
Hate crime in Indiana?
Defendant Pleads Guilty in Beating Death of Indiana Gay Man
Hendricks Sentenced To 4 Years In Aaron Hall Killing

Defendants
Coleman King – pled guilty to manslaughter, sentenced to 30 years in prison
Garrett Gray – pled guilty to manslaughter, sentenced to 30 years in prison
James Robert Hendricks – pled guilty to helping dump Aaron’s body, sentenced to 4 years in prison

INMATE INFORMATION

coleman-king.jpg

COLEMAN KING
DOC Number 185198
First Name COLEMAN
Middle Name
Last Name KING
Suffix
Date of Birth 02/00/1989
Gender Male
Race White
Facility/Location Pendleton Correctional Facility
Earliest Possible Release Date 04/21/2022

Sentence Information
Date of Sentence 01/15/2008
Description VOLUNTARY MANSLAUGHTER
Term in Years / Months / Days 30 00 00000
Type of Conviction FA
Indiana Citation Code 35-42-1-3
Cause Number 36C01 0704 MR 2
County of Conviction JACKSON
Projected Release Date 04/21/2022

INMATE INFORMATION

garrett-gray.jpg

GARRET GRAY
DOC Number 186096
First Name GARRET
Middle Name
Last Name GRAY
Suffix
Date of Birth 12/00/1987
Gender Male
Race White
Facility/Location Branchville Correctional Facility
Earliest Possible Release Date 04/20/2022

Sentence Information
Date of Sentence 01/30/2008
Description VOLUNTARY MANSLAUGHTER
Term in Years / Months / Days 30 00 00000
Type of Conviction FA
Indiana Citation Code 35-42-1-3
Cause Number 36C010704MR1
County of Conviction JACKSON
Projected Release Date 04/20/2022

INMATE INFORMATION

robert-hendricks.jpg

JAMES HENDRICKS
DOC Number 189271
First Name JAMES
Middle Name
Last Name HENDRICKS
Suffix
Date of Birth 01/06/1986
Gender Male
Race White
Facility/Location Returned to court authority on release

Sentence Information
Date of Sentence 06/12/2014
Description RESISTING LAW ENFORCEMENT
Term in Years / Months / Days 00 05 00029
Type of Conviction FD
Indiana Citation Code 35-44-3-3
Cause Number 72D01 1401 FD 000009
County of Conviction SCOTT
Projected Release Date 08/25/2014

Sentence Information
Date of Sentence 06/11/2008
Description ASSISTING A CRIMINAL
Term in Years / Months / Days 04 00 00000
Type of Conviction FC
Indiana Citation Code 35-44-3-2
Cause Number 36C01 0704 FC 16
County of Conviction JACKSON
Projected Release Date 04/21/2011

11 Responses

  1. I AM SO UPSET OVER ALL OF THIS!I AM AARONS’ DAUGHTERS MOM. SHE IS SO TORE UP OVER ALL THIS,CRIES EVERYDAY!!WE NEED JUSTICE IN ALL THIS MADDNESS!!!! PLEASE TELL EVEYONE YOU KNOW ABOUT AARONS’ DEATH!! THESE MEN SHOULD NEVER BE ON OUR STREETS AGAIN!!THIS COULD’VE HAPPENED TO YOUR SON,DAD,BROTHER,UNCLE,ETC… WE NEED TO PUT THEM AWAY FOREVER!!!!!!

  2. HEY THIS IS DAY-Z HALL AARON HALL’S DAUGHTER,AND I AM VERY UPSET ABOUT MY DAD. HE WILL NEVER BE HERE TO SEE ME GRADUATE NOT EVEN ELEMENTRY SCHOOL. I WILL NOT HAVE A DAD 2 JUST SAY I LOVE U OR JUST GIVE A HUG AND SAY GOOD NIGHT. MY DAD WAS MORE THAN A DAD HE WAS A BROTHER,SON,UNCLE ECT……………….I LOVE MY DAD VERY MUCH AND MISS HIM 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WISH HE WAS HERE BUT COLMAN.HENDRICKS AND GRAY TOOK THAT AWAY FORM ME I DO NOT LIKE THEM AT ALL. MY DAD WAS THE BEST DAD. I AM ONLY 10 AND MY B-DAY WAS LIKE 2 WEEKS AFTER HE GOT KILLED I WAS 9 WHEN IT HAPPEND!!!!!!!!!!I LOVE MY DAD!!!!!

    LOVE,
    DAY-Z HALL

  3. Dear Halls,
    I am sooooo sorry for your loss. I am a distant relative (2nd cousin) of Coleman K. I was devastated to hear and read about the brutal killing of Aaron H. I can’t even imagine the pain you are feeling. I hope I will not offend you by responding to this blog. I know my aunt, which is Coleman’s grandmother is completely hearbroken that he could be involved in such a crime. The whole family is heartbroken, not to mention how yours must feel. I know it’s no excuse, but I believe that alcohol played a huge role in what happened that night, but again….that is no excuse. I just wanted to send something out there and let you know that I personally am praying for everyone involved. I imagine that you are not in that frame of mind, but I know I feel bad, and I hope that my comments are not causing you any more harm. Please try and find some peace for yourselves this holiday season. I really mean that.
    Misty M

  4. Day-Z Hall,
    I too am so sorry for your loss. God bless you and take care.

  5. THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENTS.WE DEEPLY MISS AARON AND ALWAYS WILL.TO COLEMANS REALITIVE, YOU’RE THE ONLY ONE FROM THAT FAMILY THATS EVEN TRIED TO SAY SORRY. WHEN WE GOT TO ALL THESE COURT HEARINGS COLEMANS MOTHER ACTS LIKE ITS OUR FAULT HER BOY IS GOING TO PRISON!! THATS SO WRONG. SHE JUST STANDS THERE AND LOOKS AT US ALL CRAZY.IT DOESNT MAKE THINGS ANY EASIER.THIS IS VERY HARD TO DEAL WITH!MY DAUGHTER IS IN THEROPY EVERY WEEK!!!SHE LOVED HER DAD AND STILL DOES!THERE’S NOT ONE DAY THAT GOES BY THAT AARONS’ NOT ON OUR MINDS!!!! AARON WAS NOT GAY LIKE THEY ARE SSAYING,IF YOU KNEW HIM YOU’D AGREE!!!THEY NOT ONLY BRUTALLY BEAT HIM TO DEATH AND LEAVE HIM IN THE COLD WITH NO CLOTHES ON,THEY ARE TRASHING HIS NAME IN ALL THE PAPERS!!!!HE WAS NOT GAY!!1HE WAS MUCH MORE THAN WHAT THEY ARE SAYING ABOUT HIM!!!OUR DAUGHTER HAS SCHOOL PROGRAMS THAT HE’LL NEVER SEE,BIRTHDAYS HE’LL NEVER BE AT,JUST HER WHOLE LIFE WITHOUT HIM!THATS DEEP!!!THEY’VE RUINED MANY LIFES!!!!! THANK YOU FOR LISTENING TO OUR CRYS,AND I HOPE U CAN TRUELY SEE IT FROM OUR POINT OF VIEW!!!!!!!!

  6. Im really glad that Coleman and Garret pleaded guilty and are going to prison.I know since they are being tried in Jackson County they will not get what they deserve. (sentence wise )THEY killed my only brother.I hope and pray to God that he makes sure while there away they get what they deserve.

  7. its over and done with now, life is too short to stay mad, live every day like its your last bc you never know when your time will be up..

  8. aaron shorty hall is the father of my cousin and i may not known him as well as others in my family but i know for a fact that he wasnt gay. if you do not believe this then you should look at his myspace page and you will see that he is not friends with any guys and that all the girls that are his friends are clearly straight and he is clearly interested in WOMEN!! so dont judge someone over what you hear through the media because things doi get twisted around when the story is told more then once.

  9. I am just learning of this story and this truly saddens me. Even though I’ve read that Shorty wasn’t gay, it really shouldn’t even matter. No one should be murdered for any reason. The evil that exudes from the spirit and soul of the individuals who committed this crime is truly of the devil himself. They are the devils descendants and should be sentenced to death. An eye for an eye.

    May you rest in a sweet slumber Shorty. You are now with our loving Lord Jesus Christ!

  10. I know Coleman and Garrett. I was in the same Pod as Coleman was. His cell was right next to mine. He only acted furious when someone acted gay toward him. I know that he thought of consequences, for his actions. Something had to actually happen for them to beat him to death. I think what they’re saying might be true. Coleman was always smiling, and laughing…..until someone acted gay toward him. I don’t know what happedned, but Garrett and Coleman are actually nice people, well I got along with them.

    • i don’t think that you should write on this page if you have nice things to say bout two MURDERERS! my dad was not fucking gay. did you know him? no i didnt fucking think so,so you have no right to say shit bout my dad. i think that Coleman & Garett are bout pieces of shit and are not good people at all. good people dont brutally kill a person for no reason then say he was gay and try and ruin his reputation after hay already fucking took his life away. thanks to them now i will never get to see my dad again or even ever hear is voice. they are not good people so if all you guys have to say is that my dad was gay or that garett & calleman are good people just fuck off and dont write shit on this page or any of the other pages about my dad!!

      * Rest in Peace Aaron Hall “Daddy”
      – You are loved & missed bunches ❤

Leave a Reply

