  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,206 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    4 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


Cold Case: Jennifer Kathleen Nielsen murder 6/14/2007 Raleigh, NC *8 months pregnant, no suspect yet*


Jennifer Kathleen Nielsen

Find-A-Grave: Jennifer Kathleen “Jenna” Nielsen
Justice 4 Jenna
Jennifer Kathleen Nielsen stories
Police ID Woman Found Dead Outside Raleigh Store
Pregnant Woman From Utah Found Dead In Raleigh
Woman delivering newspapers found dead at gas station
Family Statement On Utah Woman Murdered in Raleigh
Family Provides Statement about Jennifer Nielsen
Bloody Knife May be Connected to Nielsen Murder
USA Today Seeks Tips In Murder Investigation
USA Today runs full page ad seeking information about homicide
Murder Victim’s Family Calls for Justice
National Spotlight on Raleigh Woman’s Murder
Sketch Producing Tips in Pregnant Mother’s Slaying
National Newspaper Plans Full-Page Ad for Murdered Mother
Murder Victim’s Family Praises ‘USA Today’ Ad
Police Say Nielsen Was Stabbed
Police: Pregnant Paper Carrier Was Stabbed

41 Responses

  1. That is so sad. I hope whomever did it is caught soon.

  2. Jenna was my cousin, she was the sweetest person I know and would never hurt a fly. Now…

  3. Jenna was one of my friends in high school. Simply put, a great girl. Her bubbly, happy go lucky attitude is going to be greatly missed. My deepest condolences go out to her family.

  4. Can someone PLEASE tell me WHY a husband ALLOWED his * MONTH PREGNANT WIFE go out every day in the middle of the night when rapist/muggers and homeless people ROAM the streets of Raleigh…that was WAY tooo dangerous a job for her..I live in Raleigh and that neighborhood where she was killed is DANGEROUS….I feel sorry for her and her poor baby and family…but THIS could have been prevented….

  5. I don’t think now is the time to judge Nicole. I personally know Jenna, I went to school with her. Let’s just focus on remembering her and her family at this time. Everything can be prevented, you could not drive and not be killed in a car crash.. but that’s not the point. It does not justify murder. I hope you will just pray for her and her family at this time and not critic the situation.

  6. RIP jennifer. I will pray for your family.

  7. My heart goes out to Jenna’s Family, We have all suffered a great loss by the occurance of june 14th, No one can or will ever replace jenna, i went to high school with her, and she is such an amazing girl! My heart Aches for her family. I hope they find whoever did this, Can someone please let me know when the funeral is, i’d like to pay my respects. piscesmom21@hotmail.com Thanks you. R.i.p Jenna I love you

  8. jenna was my cousin and she was the sweetes thing in the would how someone could do somthing so cuel and sick is just evil and deserves to rott in jail!!!!

    RIP Jenna

  9. I knew Jenna before she was born, through her mother. Her and I were sister-in-laws, both pregnant at the same time. Jenna and my children, Michael and Stephanie grew up together, they were very close. I cant stop thinking about Jenna and what happened. It is on my mind constantly. A wise woman told me recently, Divorce is only between the husband and wife, not the rest of the family. It is so true I may have not known Jenna in recent years, but I still Loved her, as Im sure anyone that met her did. Her attacker didnt know how special she was, to him, she was just another person. He did not have the pleasure of knowing her like we all did. That is one thing for sure to be thankful for. He obviously didnt deserve to know her. Thank you all for your kind comments and all our prayers are with the entire family.

  10. Jenna was my niece. When she married my nephew I knew right away how special she was! She was a loving mommy and wife. All I can do is think about her and how this happened. I say my prayers everynight to be with Caiden and Schyler and Timmy. I am so incredibly sad but at the same time I am so INCREDIBLY ANGRY.. Angry that this happened, angry that people that didn’t even know her are judging her and her husbands decisions they made together. Angry that some sick person took such a SPECIAL person out of our lives. I hope they find the ***hole that did this to our sweet Jenna and I only wish I could have 5 minutes alone with that individual although I am sure I would have to wait in line. Carrie as soon as I know when the arrangements are made I will email you and let you know so you can come if you would like me too. My thoughts and prayers are with all of my family and friends that lost such a wonderful girl. I love you Jenna! Aunt Suzi

  11. Jenna was one of my best friends. The day I met her we hit it off. We spent pretty much everyday together. One of my fondest memories is me and her starting a girls night out every week with some other friends. Every Thursday night we would drive the 3o mins to Mesquite NV and go bowling. Me and Jenna made other trips together to Las Vegas and Salt Lake City. I am very sad that we lost touch after she moved back up to Salt Lake. I would like to send my condolences to her family and let them know that they are in my prayers. I would would like to attend the funeral for her if someone could let me know when and where it will be. sewatts@hotmail.com

    I love you Jenna. I will miss you but will NEVER forget you.

    -Inah

  12. Jenna was my cousin. We grew up together. We would spend summers together at my oma’s house. When we got out of the pool, we would go and eat all the raspberries of my oma’s bushes. She was an amazing woman. I am greatly shocked by this, I never thought that something like this would happened to her. I assumed that something had happened to someone in my family who was sick, not a perfectly heathly young woman. People are just sick! I will never understand how you can do this to a 8 month old woman. Jenna I will miss you and I know will find justice for you.
    -Stephanie (lori’s daughter)

  13. Jenna was my grand daughter and Ethan our great-grandson. This is by far the hardest thing we have ever had to deal with as a family. But the out-pouring of support and love has been tremendous! It helps so much to hear from her friends and family. It is wonderful to hear how much joy Jenna brought to the world. We are collecting emails, cards and stories about things people remember about Jenna. Our daughter is putting together a scrapbook for the boys when they are older, so they will know more about their mother, how special she was, how many lives she touched and how much she loved them. The funeral will be in Salt Lake City on Saturday but we do not know exactly where or when yet. Please feel free to contact me and please let as many people know about Jenna as possible so her case stays alive until justice is done.
    Diane Frank. euro@tbmseminars.com

  14. This was written by Jenna in 99′ for her grandmothers funeral. We felt it was appropriate to share this with family and friends:

    Do not stand at my grave & weep,
    I am not there, I do not sleep.

    I am a thousand winds that blow,
    I am the diamond glints on snow.

    I am the sunlight on ripened grain,
    I am the autumn’s rain.

    When you awaken in the mornings hush,
    I am the swift uplifting rush,
    of quite birds in circled flight,
    I am the soft star the shines at night.

    Do not stand at my grave & cry…

    For I am not there… I did not Die!

    – Jenna

  15. jenna was the sweetest person i have ever known! she could make anyone happy if they were sad. she brought happiness to all around her, her family was her life and loved them dearly!!! she did everything for them. my heart and prayers go out to her family and i will do anything for them. her mother is my best friend!!!! love you guys forever!!!!!

  16. It’s hard to believe I can have so many fond memories of a beautiful, young lady I only met briefly in the big scheme of her life but we had so much fun!!! I recall being at a research seminar of her grandparents and a bunch of us were sitting in the hotel jacuzzi and it seemed everyone had a complaint about something and Jenna was sitting directly across from me just smiling and being her happy self, just radiating gratefulness for the moment! That’s what I think made her so special is Jenna knew how to love, live and appreciate being in the moment of “now”!!! I remember seeing her glow with this brilliant light of joy and it was so breathtakingly beautiful, she was so beautiful inside and out!!! It’s also so hard for me to believe that this angelic being of pure light, love & joy met up one dark, early morning with pure evil and her and her unborn baby were so senselessly taken from us. Knowing Jenna she has probably already forgiven this evil, depraved, pathetic person(s) but Jenna… I am really trying… but it is so hard to be as wonderful as you! Jenna I want you to know that your life had a tremendous impact on me and your death even more so has taught me a very valuable lesson.
    I find it intolerable how unfair life is!!! Whenever I feel overwhelmed from this day forward with how unfair life is treating me, I will remember you Jenna! I will remember what a beautiful young lady you were both inside and out!!! I will remember how you loved your job delivering newspapers even though you were 8 months pregnant, so you could remain home with your beautiful boys and I will remember what love you brought to this earth in your brief 22 years of life!!! I will remember all the beauty, love and good that you were and how your pure love and beauty met up one early morning with pure evil and like an innocent lamb you and your baby were slaughtered and now 2 wonderful boys are without their beautiful mother & brother, and a devoted husband is without his wife & son, and a loving family is without their daughter/ grand-daughter and grandson/great grandson!!! I will remember this and never allow myself to feel sorry for me and how unfair life is treating me ever again!!! I join your whole family in this time of great grief, sorrow & loss and surround us with all the pureness of love that is you Jenna, and we will be strengthened by this! Rest in peace now Jenna for you are very much loved and you will be fondly remembered.

  17. I knew Jenna through our paper routes. We would meet every morning and talk about all the things going on in our lives and make jokes and laugh. She was a little bit of sunshine at the paper drop at 2:30 in the morning. She was my friend and I mourne the senseless loss of one so cherished. Thursday morning she came to the drop and we joked about the weight of the papers sending her into labor and in true Jenna fashion she said “bring it on” she was so ready to hold Ethan and she so loved Kaiden and Schyler. She would talk about there daily antics and her many trips to the park to “let them run”. I was supposed to take over her route when she had Ethan, until she could return. I will miss her tapping on my car window to sit and talk, I will miss standing in the rain trying to keep newspapers dry with little platic bags and the wind doing its best to blow them away and she just kept telling the bags “you’re fired”. I will miss the smile that always lit up her face and most of all I will miss all the times we would have had, all the talks, the laughs and the friendship which I know would have grown deeper with each early morning paper drop.

    Jenna you will never be forgotten. Tomorrow evening some of us from the drop are going to say good bye at the spot where it happened. With 22 white roses ( for each precious year you were here), 1 red rose (for Ethan), a few words and a lot of tears we wil begin the long journey of moving on with our lives, just as you would have wanted. Thank you for the time that I did know you and for the little bit of sunshine in this world.

  18. My heart broke when I heard about this tragic event. How could someone do this to another person? I was devistated to find out that the victim of this horrible crime was the wife of someone I knew! I went to school with Tim. I wish there was some way to tell him my heart goes out to him and his children. Nobody deserves to have this happen to them. This comment may be a little delayed, but NOBODY could possibly ask for this to happen to them. You could not prepare for such an incident. They have been nothing but victims of this horrible crime. For someone to blame anyone other than the attacker is rediculous. My deepest sympathies go out to Jenna’s family including the Nielsons.

  19. hello to all.
    please forgive this intrusion. my name is martha quillin and i’m a reporter for the raleigh news & observer.
    we have run a number of stories about jenna’s death, but i’d like to write about her life. it sounds like jenna made quite a difference in this world while she was here.
    if you’d like to speak with me, please send me an email at marthaq@newsobserver.com and let me know how to reach you.
    to those who knew jenna and know her family, i am so sorry for your loss. i wish you peace.
    best wishes to all,
    martha quillin

  20. What happened to this beautiful young mother and her baby makes me sick. Jennifer had every right to be delivering her papers at any hour of the day. The person who did this had no right to harm and kill these two people. I hope this person is found and punished to the full extent of the law. There is a place reserved in hell for this piece of trash. What a cowardly and heartless act. My heart and prayers go out to Jennifer’s family and friends. God Bless Jennifer and baby Ethan.

  21. To the family and friends of Jennifer. My heart goes out to each and everyone of you. You will all be in my thoughts and prayers. My God bless you all and may Jennifer and her unborn child rest in peace.

  22. My sister was murdered three years ago. I know the pain…..
    I am so very sorry……..with all my heart I am so very sorry someone else has to feel this way.
    May God’s love give you some comfort…..
    Kristie

  23. This woman was truly loved by so many. I am in tears reading this blog. How could someone kill this woman? She LOOKS nice. She also looks like a petite little woman. Imagine her horror when she was approached by this person with the heart of darkness. My heart goes out to her and her loved ones. I hope when they catch her killer he/she gets the death penalty. God bless her family. I am truly sorry for your loss.

  24. I have shed many tears reading this blog as well as the news of Jenna’s death. Because of my profession, I see too much trauma. It saddens me to see two wonderful lives taken. I pray for Jenna’s family, especially her husband and sons, and her friends. Jenna has touched people she did not even know. She truly is special.

  25. My prayers are with Jenna’s family, especially her husband and two little boys. As a Raleigh native, I can tell you that this type of random crime is completely out of the norm for the Raleigh area. Everyone here is in shock–Jenna could have been our neighbor, our sister, our mother. God bless Jenna and those of you who knew her.

  26. with great sadness we heared what happend to jenna.
    diane told us when she arrived in belgium.how is it
    possible that so horrible things can happend? in what
    sort of world are we living?our hart goes out to the
    familie,friends,and everywone who knew jenna.
    may jenna rest in peace!!
    jerry and ann (belgium)

  27. This is the sweetest blog I have been to yet. It shows you what a wonderful woman she was, and how deeply she will be missed. God Bless her.

  28. This is very sad and I offer my condolences to the family and friends. May Jennifer rest in peace.

    The poem, “Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep” was actually written by the original author, Mary Elizabeth Frye. I have seen it published in many funeral programs over the years. Just an FYI in case of copyright issues.

    May the Lord bless and keep you.

  29. My heart goes out to all of Jenna’s family and friends. What a devestating death – so senseless ! Just looking at Jenna’s photos makes me smile – but sad at the same time because of what she went through in the last moments of her life. What a cruel world – but so many nice people on this forum. Jenna and Ethan – Rest in Peace

  30. My condolences to the family. My family is always accusing me and my mother of being OVER PROTECTIVE but in todays day and age I feel you can never be too safe. I am from Utah but did not know Jenna,however as a woman and mother of two I am deeply saddened and brought to tears as a result of the incident. You can never see tragedy coming. Hug your family and always remind them of your love. Jenna may be gone but it sounds like her family and friends are doing a good job in keeping memories alive. My prayers are with all those affected.
    All my love.

  31. Could someone please tell me where Jenna went to high school?

  32. Michael,

    I believe it was here in Salt Lake.

  33. Jenna went to Granite High school in salt lake city. I want to tell the family I am so sorry for their loss! She was a FANTASTIC girl, a great mom, daughter, and wife. She was like a daughter to me, and our whole family misses her very much! I have some pictures that i would love to share and memories too. She is one person who could light up a room, and make you smile. You can contact me at snandra6@comcast.net. Again I am truly sorry for everyones loss. Jenna will be forever remembered in our hearts! My son Steven Winter went to school with Jenna, he was one of many of her best friends. We grew to love her very much. I am praying all the time to find her killer, and that justice is served! If there is anything that I can do, please let me know. Sincerly Nandra

  34. […] read about this case while following up on the Stepha Henry story.  Bonnie’s Blog of Crime has links as well as some comments from family and friends of […]

  35. Jenna was an amazing Mother, Daughter, Wife, and Friend!
    She touched many people’s lives, she had nothing but love and care to give! We pray for the family and friends. Jenna we miss you and we’ll see you soon.
    Sincerly,
    The Winter Family

  36. I never met Jenna, and I live about five hours and three states away from NC, but her story has certainly has touched me.

    Last saturday night I woke up from dozing off on the sofa–it was about 1:30 AM–to test my blood sugar. I turned on the news just for some background noise at that quiet hour. The slot was devoted to Jenna and Ethan’s story. I read about war and tragedy literally every day. Sadly, one can become nearly immune after a while. But this story–so personalized–spoke to me on a very visceral level. As tired as I was, it took a good bit of patience to get back to sleep. I went to bed and finished off the night with a kiss to my pregnant wife (six months) and a “Goodnight, junior,” to her tummy. She will have my first child, a son, in October.

    Jenna, you and Ethan are in my thoughts. God bless you and your son. And God bless your family.

    A friend from Maryland.

  37. This is to Scott Thompson. You really should check out
    Justice4Jenna.org and leave your message there also. Thanks so much for your comment! Good Luck on your son!

  38. Thanks, Nandra. Will do!

  39. […] co-worker, Angela, left a comment on this blog saying she and Jenna would talk about their lives every morning while waiting to pick up papers. On […]

  40. The way things are, I do wonder how a husband of a young, pregnant woman lets his wife work a shift between midnight and dawn. This is the most dangerous time of day and no law of the land can protect you from that. It shouldn’t be like that, but everybody knows that it is.

Leave a Reply

