• Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,785 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    4 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


Movies Based on True Stories: Desperate For Love

On March 23, 1981 Steve Brown, age 15, disappeared from Falkner, MS. After school, he went to baseball practice and then went hunting (which was mostly target shooting) in the woods behind Little Hope Cemetery with Mike Miskelley, age 15. Mike later said that he then dropped Steve off in front of the Bank of Falkner, as Steve had a date with Tammy Glissen (in many accounts she is listed as Tammy Nance, but from what I found, Glissen is her maiden name and Nance is her married name from her first marriage), age 16, that night to go to Corinth. He did not show up. Steve’s father talked to Mike around 7:30pm or 8pm to see if he knew where he was. Mike joined in the search for Steve, which became a full blown search around 11pm. Searches continued for about 2 weeks, however, he was not found.

Prior to this, Steve had previously been dating Tammy Glissen. In December they decided to start seeing other people. During this time, Tammy started dating Mike Miskelley. Then on March 21, 1982, Tammy and Steve started dating again. Tammy told Mike on March 22, which he appeared to be upset over. However, after Steve disappeared, Tammy resumed dating Mike. But during this time, she continually accused Mike of being responsible for Steve’s disappearance. She also accused him of killing Steve. She asked him about this daily, at school and at home. Finally, around May 1, he confessed to Tammy that he killed Steve and put him in a hole he had dug in the woods. He said it did it for her, because he felt Steve was coming between them and he loved Tammy.

After Mike confessed to her, she told her father, who let investigators know. Tammy then made a statement to the investigators, who then had Mike take a polygraph test. Unfortunately, without the body, nothing happened until December 27, 1982, when Steve’s skeletal remains were found by Denny Ross, while hunting in Benton County, MS behind the Blackwell Church (Little Hope Cemetery is behind this church). His remains were identified through dental records and also his rifle was identified as belonging to him.

Mike Miskelley was convicted of murder in 1983, but it was overturned by the Mississippi Supreme Court and ordered to be retried. He then pleaded guilty to manslaughter and received a 10 year sentence. By that point, he was eligible for parole.

This Day in History: Steven Vance Brown murder 3/23/81 Falkner, MS
Desperate For Love
Desperate for Love movie (this is a GREAT site to get the true story behind the movie, she does A LOT of great research. She also has some photos.)
Wikipedia: Desperate for Love

11 Responses

  1. […] Bullard murderAngela O. on Deliza Bullard murderjohn on John Kenneth Freeman: *alledge…Bonnie’s Blog … on This Day in History: Steven […]

  2. Hi!
    I just wanted to say that I am glad you posted this. I had always wondered what happened with the movie, etc.
    I grew up in Tippah County and the murder was one of the only things “bad” that I ever knew that really happened when I was little. It wasn’t until I was older that I realized I lived a very sheltered life. Sure, there were accidents–mostly car accidents, that claimed the lives of teenagers in our area, but this was the most shocking thing that had happened since the “race riots” of the 60’s. I still remember it as if it were yesterday. . . my uncle calling to tell us that a FHS student was missing. Thanks for posting the info. I’m going to see if I can find the movie…
    Angelyn

  3. There is also an article that was published in Memphis Magazine Dec. 2008 regarding this story. Please feel free to contact me. I have more info regarding this story.

  4. I just read the long story from the Memphis magazine. What an intriguing story. I am from central MS, and had never heard of this case. Does anyone have any more information on it? Are there any pictures available of anyone involved? Thanks

  5. I went to school with Steve, Tammy and Mike. If I’m not mistaken the story was run in the “True Crime” magazine back not long after Steve was found. This is something that shook us all up and I have to say that I truly do wonder about the guilt of Mike. Lots of things to consider….and to be honest, I’m still wondering about the music teacher. Not only him, but possibly Tammy’s father being a suspect. Small towns hold big secrets.

  6. I am Tammy’s daughter, please don’t believe that everything in the movie was a true fact. This was told by Mike’s perspective.

  7. I was at the second trial, never started, Mike confessed and had to tell the parents the story. Her daughter is correct story was payment to his lawyer, movie rights. Part of it anyway, but he did confess. All families involved were good people.

Leave a Reply

