• Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4,641 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).

Rex Copeland murder 9/21/1989 Birmingham, AL *Samford Debate Coach William Slagle convicted, sentenced to life in prison; Parole denied for William Slagle**

Rex Copeland
Rex Copeland

William Slagle was sentenced to life in prison, but he still got the chance at parole. He tried in 2001 and 2007 but was denied each time. He died in prison in 2010.

Copeland Award for Top First Round At-Large Team
Suspect turns himself in
Ex-professor’s murder trial begins
Jurors see grisly tape in debate coach’s trial
Debate coach not badly cut, witness (part 1)
Coach (part 2)
Ex-debate coach convict
Debate coach gets life for killing his star student
Debate coach sentenced to life in prison
Debate Coach Gets Life Term In Stabbing Death Of Student
One hundred years of Samford Crimson
The Meaning of Life
Coach who killed debater will seek parole Monday
Slagle Parole Hearing
Debate Coach Killer Denied Parole
William Lee Slagle v State of Alabama 1992
William J Copland, et al v Samford University

Murder U: No Room For Debate

William Slagle
William Slagle

12 Responses

  1. I knew Rex since elementary school . It was a very sad and angry time for many of us . However , I’m very glad to see that Slagel will not be paroled . For what he did , his punishment doesn’t even come close to being just . So , let him sit in prison and rot .

  2. Bill Slagle was one of my professors at Mercer University in the 1980s and many remember him as a selfish and self-centered bastard. Although many Mercer alumni and former colleagues from his days in Macon, Georgia were saddened to learn of this crime, few were surprised that he was capable of doing the murder. He just appeared evil. This young man did not deserve such a fate and Bill Slagle (and his fake hairpieces) should burn in hell for taking his life.

  3. I helped put him away. I was on the jury and to this day it still hurts me and bothers me to think of what he did (especially from what we saw picture wise). I have no idea where he is but I once heard that he was petitioning to get parol. I pray this never happens.
    My heart and prayers are still with rex’s family.

  4. Slagle was a debate coach at our high school back in the 70s. Our teams won many state titles with him at the helm. I was stunned in ’89 when I heard he had committed such a horrible crime. Taking the life of such a promising young man is inexcusable. I am glad he did not make parole.

  5. Is he still alive. He is no longer on Alabama incarcerated website.

  6. Any word on the jackass’es condition? Thanks

  7. I have confirmed that Bill Slagle died in prison last year.

  8. I was a student at Samford when Rex was murdered and will never forget him. What information is available about the death of William Slagle?

  9. Any idea how Slagle died? Just watched the episode of “Murder U” and very strange that his manner of death is not published…..

Leave a Reply

