  • This Day in Crime History

    October 18: 2005: Melissa Toston, 38, was beaten to death with a cement object in a vacant garage in Detroit, MI. Serial Killer Shelly Andre Brooks was convicted and sentenced to LWOP.

  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Goodreads

  • Social Media

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,540 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc. 3-No comments in ALL CAPS, or CoMeNtS. They are rude and difficult to read. I have had many complaints about it so no more. 4-Comments must be in English only and easy to read (meaning no text language, shortening words, etc.). Have respect for those who don't do text messaging or other lingo. 5 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS. If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).

Sharon Ann and Kelly Johnson murders 1/2/2007 Sacramento, CA *Jose Guadalupe Barrera-Rodriguez convicted, sentenced to LWOP*

shraon-ann-johnson.jpgFrom Barrera-Rodriguez’ appeal: On the morning of January 2, 2007, defendant telephoned 911 and reported that he had killed two people—his baby son’s mother, Kelly, and Kelly’s mother, Sharon. Defendant said that he was calling from the victims’ residence and that he had killed them with a lug wrench about an hour earlier.

A Sacramento County Sheriff’s deputy arrived at the house a short time later and talked to defendant by telephone. Defendant said that he had killed his girlfriend and his girlfriend’s mother. He added that he was inside the house with two small children and was concerned about who would take care of them. After being assured that someone would take care of the children, defendant came out of the house without incident.

Sheriff’s officials entered the house and located the bodies of Kelly and Sharon in a rear bedroom. Their heads were bloodied.

Defendant agreed to be interviewed and was transported to the sheriff’s headquarters downtown. He spoke with Detective Jason Cvitanov for several hours. A videotape of the interview was played for the jury.

Defendant told Cvitanov that he and Kelly had been dating for about a year. He said he was the father of Kelly’s seven-month-old son, Isael, and that Kelly had a four-year-old daughter, Layla, from a previous relationship. Kelly had another boyfriend while she was pregnant with Isael, and defendant paid for a paternity test that confirmed he was the father.

Prior to the murders, defendant and Kelly had argued because she no longer wanted to see him. However, she still allowed him to spend time with Isael. He became jealous of her, and “any little thing” would hurt him. Several little things added up and made him mad.

Before going to Kelly’s house in the early morning hours of January 2, defendant thought to himself, “. . . I’m finished with everything.” He brought along a hammer, planning to hurt her for “all the things she [had done] to” him. He had been drinking beer and using methamphetamine, and he was feeling “kind of” drunk. He entered the house through an attached garage and went to Kelly’s room, where he remained for 10 to 20 minutes while she slept. She woke up and asked him, “`What are you doing here?'” He told her that he missed her and Isael. When he asked if he could stay with her, she said no, but offered that he could stay in Isael’s room.

Defendant stayed in Isael’s room for only a minute before returning to Kelly’s room and telling her that he was leaving. But instead of leaving, he struck her head more than three times using a metal bar. She began screaming and fell to the floor. Upon hearing Kelly’s screams, Sharon entered the room. Using the same metal bar, defendant struck Sharon’s head more than three times.

After the attack, defendant walked to a mini-mart. At some point he concealed the metal bar in a plastic bag. He telephoned his brother Sergio, who picked him up. As they drove through a residential area, defendant got out of the car and discarded the metal bar in a garbage can. Then he went to the apartment of someone he knew and remained there for about 30 minutes, “[j]ust trippin’.” Afterward, he walked back to the mini-mart, where he telephoned Sergio again and obtained a ride back to the crime scene. When he arrived there he made the 911 call.

Sheriff’s Detectives Investigate Double Killing in South Sacramento
Double Murder Suspect May Face Death Penalty
Man accused of slaying two
Double murderer gets double life sentence
The People of the State of California v Jose Guadalup Barrera-Rodriguez 2010

INMATE INFORMATION

Name: BARRERA-RODRIGUEZ, JOSE GUADALUPE
CDCR#: G54179
Age: 31
Admission Date: 03/20/2009
Current Location: Corcoran

10 Responses

  1. Sharon was my ex-wife and Kelly was my daughter. I loved them both dearly. Despite the divorce, Sharon and I still cared deeply for each other, and our children. This nut had no right to deprive us of their companionship and love. I wish they would honor a petition to release barrera to our custody. We would be happy to save the state some money. I guess the best I can hope for now is a slight malfuntion in their execution equipment, so that he suffers long and painfully.

  2. I first would like to say I appreciate your website. I’d just like to put out there that my mother and sister was firmly against the death penalty for their own personal beliefs. Our family lost more than a mother/ grandmother, sister, aunt, etc on January 2, 2007. The family lost two amazing shining stars.
    My mother once told me that you never truely know someone until there is a divorce or death. I often wonder if MURDER should be added to this saying. My sister left 2 beautiful children behind… my mother has 3 surviving children. Its unbelievable what creaps out of the woodwork- trying to benefit from such tragedy. I thank GOD daily for the good people, family, and *angels* that have been led into our paths to help us with this ordeal- as we as a family not only have a fight a head of us re: the murder trial. We also have a fight with family re: custody and family matters.
    Thank you for all the prayers and we will need them!

  3. .

  4. I was friends with Kelly for almost two years. I met her through her brother Blake when Sharon and Kelly still lived in Green Bay, WI. I heard about what happened through her brother and I am still flabbergasted by the whole thing, it almost doesn’t seem real. That’s probably why it took me this long to actually research what happened. I didn’t want to believe that this could happen to someone that I knew. It’s hard to make sense of such a senseless tragedy. All that I can do is remember her the way she was when I knew her, sure I didn’t agree with her taste in men and she knew it, but she was my friend and I stood by her anyway. She was such an awesome person to be around and I will never forget her. We had some good times together. She was a few years younger than me but you never could tell. I hadn’t thought of her since she left Green Bay, it’s funny how when something tragic happens you seem to remember the smallest details about events, places, and people. I lost my own sister in a car crash in 2001 and I remember how hard that was on me. I can only imagine what the family is going through. My prayers are with you all and I wish you nothing but the best!

    Jason Williams

  5. Thank you Jason!

  6. Kelly was my Bestfriend and always will be!! I miss you and Sharon so much… Im barely coming to terms and can write openly about you.. I had so much anger towards the whole situation but now im learning to except it.. I just miss u so much.. Its been a couple years since you were takin from us but the memorize I have of me and you are like yesterday.. I still sit in my room and cry.. Your children are so beautiful and getting so big,, I only get to see them in pictures but its so nice to see their big smiles … I miss you so much!! LOve always Crystal & Family

  7. It will be coming up on 3years since Sharon and Kelly were taken so brutally from us. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about what happen to them. Kelly was my other half, she was another sister to me. She was my best friend and I miss her so much. I try to figure out how something like this could even happen? I ask myself these questions everyday….All I know is that I am missing my best friend more and more everyday and I know that will never get easier.

    Kelly—please don’t ever worry, you know what I mean…love you and miss you more and more every day. Just keep your eyes on them.

    You can shed tears that she is gone,
    or you can smile because she has lived.
    You can close your eyes and pray that she’ll come back,
    or you can open your eyes and see all she’s left.
    Your heart can be empty because you can’t see her,
    or you can be full of the love you shared.
    You can turn your back on tomorrow and live yesterday,
    or you can be happy for tomorrow because of yesterday.
    You can remember her only that she is gone,
    or you can cherish her memory and let it live on.
    You can cry and close your mind,
    be empty and turn your back.
    Or you can do what she’d want:
    smile, open your eyes, love and go on

  8. Kelly was my cousin and this maniac had no right to take a human life. This “man” is insane, because of him i will never see my cousin again. I miss her dearly and now i will never get her back because of what he’s done. i pray that some day i will get to see her in the glorious heaven that we all hope to see some day

  9. Demario patterson is my brother. He was also taken away but this monster i dont look at jose as a human he is a monster. My mother passed away almost 2 yrs later after my brother. I feel like my whole world has stopped spinning. My mother fought for answers up until the time she passed away her heart was filled with questions unanswered how could someone do this to her baby boy in police custody. He was suppose to be potected. God knows when he wants to take his children home but no one should have to suffer. I prey that no one suffered. I miss my brother and mother every second of my life. My brother has a son that he has never seen. Im so sorry for the family that has to go through what im going through.

  10. Its amazing how much grief can be caused by one person. Not a day goes by that I dont think of my mother and sister…

    LaTiffanie… My heart goes out to you and your family for your loss.

Leave a Reply

