  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,310 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc. 3-No comments in ALL CAPS, or CoMeNtS. They are rude and difficult to read. I have had many complaints about it so no more. 4 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS. If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).

Cold Case: Wellnitz Family murder 2/26/1993 Columbia, KY *William Harry Meece killed Wellnitz Family so daughter Margaret Wellnitz Appleton could inherit the estate*

Victims
Joseph Wellnitz, 50
Beth Wellnitz, 40
Dennis Wellnitz, 20

Detectives Reveal How They Made 10-Year-Old Case
Lexington Man Pleads Guilty In Slaying Of Family
Man Accused In Triple Murder Withdraws Guilty Plea; May Face Death If Convicted
Man Charged In 1993 Murders Wants To Change Guilty Plea And Go To Trial
Potential Witness In Triple Murder Case Changes Her Story
Meece Changes His Mind About Plea Deal
Woman Pleads Guilty In 1993 Deaths Of Family Members
Woman Who Admitted Role In Death Of Family Members Sentenced To Life In Prison
Jury Selection Begins In Trial Of Man Charged In 1993 Triple Slaying
Suspect Takes Stand In Murder Trial
Triple Murder Trial Expected to Reach Jury Today
Lexington Man Found Guilty of Triple Murder
Jury Recommends Death Penalty for Convicted Murderer
Jury Recommends Death For Triple Murderer Meece
Man Sentenced to Death for Triple Slay
Lexington Man Gets Death Penalty For 1993 Triple Murder
Kentucky Death Row
Murderpedia: William Harry Meece
William Harry Meece – Kentucky Death Row
William Harry Meece v Commonwealth of Kentucky 2011
Ky. woman convicted in slayings of her parents and brother found dead in jail cell
Death row inmate kicked out of Kosher program sues state
Ky. woman convicted in slayings of her parents and brother found dead in jail cell

Read more here: http://www.kentucky.com/news/state/kentucky/article44471388.html#storylink=cpy

Movies/Documentaries
Southern Fried Homicide: Heart of Darkness
Unusual Suspects: Killings In Kentucky

Defendants
Margaret Anne Wellnitz Appleton – pled guilty, sentenced to life in prison; died in prison
William Harry Meece – convicted, sentenced to death

INMATE INFORMATION

Name: APPLETON, MARGARET A
Min Date: 01/20/9999
Inmate ID: 179945
Facility: Western Ky. Correctional Complex
Age: 38
Race: White
Gender: Female
Eye Color: Hazel
Hair Color: Brown
Height: 5′ 05″
Weight: 260lbs.
Inst Start Date: 02/04/2005

Aliases
No aliases found for this offender.

Conviction Information

Offense Number 1
Indictment #: 03CR00020
<>Crime Date: 02/26/1993
Conviction Date: 01/31/2005
Conviction County: Adair
Indictment Count: 003
KRS Code: 515.020
Felony Class: B
Sentence Length: 20 years 00 months 00 days
Offense: ROBBERY, 1ST DEGREE

Offense Number 2
Indictment #: 03CR00020
<>Crime Date: 02/26/1993
Conviction Date: 01/31/2005
Conviction County: Adair
Indictment Count: 002
KRS Code: 511.020
Felony Class: B
Sentence Length: 20 years 00 months 00 days
Offense: BURGLARY, 1ST DEGREE

Offense Number 3
Indictment #: 03CR00020
<>Crime Date: 02/26/1993
Conviction Date: 01/31/2005
Conviction County: Adair
Indictment Count: 001
KRS Code: 439.3401
Felony Class: X
Sentence Length: 99 years 00 months 99 days
Offense: MURDER – HB455

Parole Information
No parole information found for this offender.

INMATE INFORMATION

Name: MEECE, WILLIAM H
Min Date: 01/30/9999
Inmate ID: 167032
Facility: Kentucky State Penitentiary
Age: 40
Race: White
Gender: Male
Eye Color: Hazel
Hair Color: Brown
Height: 6′ 01″
Weight: 205lbs.
Inst Start Date: 07/29/2003

Aliases
No aliases found for this offender.

Conviction Information

Offense Number 1
Indictment #: 02CR01355
<>Crime Date: 11/03/2002
Conviction Date: 07/23/2003
Conviction County: Fayette Indictment Count: 001
KRS Code: 439.3401
Felony Class: B
Sentence Length: 12 years 00 months 00 days
Offense: MURDER – HB455

Offense Number 2
Indictment #: 06CR00656
<>Crime Date: 02/26/1993
Conviction Date: 11/13/2006
Conviction County: Warren Indictment Count: 003
KRS Code: 515.020
Felony Class: B
Sentence Length: 20 years 00 months 00 days
Offense: ROBBERY, 1ST DEGREE

Offense Number 3
Indictment #: 06CR00656
<>Crime Date: 02/26/1993
Conviction Date: 11/13/2006
Conviction County: Warren
Indictment Count: 002
KRS Code: 511.020
Felony Class: B
Sentence Length: 20 years 00 months 00 days
Offense: BURGLARY, 1ST DEGREE

Offense Number 4
Indictment #: 06CR00656
<>Crime Date: 02/26/1993
Conviction Date: 11/13/2006
Conviction County: Warren
Indictment Count: 001
KRS Code: 439.3401
Felony Class: X
Sentence Length: 99 years 99 months 00 days
Offense: MURDER – HB455

Parole Information
Hearing Date Hearing Action Months Deferred
04/01/2005 Deferred 048

27 Responses

  1. i would like to know how they met and if they had talked about murdering
    her family while in college together

  2. Carolyn,
    Yes they knew each other in college.. and the murders took place while they were attending college together.

  3. Just looking for more current info on this case. Not much new out there on the web.

  4. Hoping to find some video of the trial maybe. Again, nothing out there from what I can find.

  5. The clouded versions of memory have never allowed me to forget my dear friends and church family. From the beginning we felt as though this would be the end result in ‘who’ was responsible for this rude awakening in our close knit community of columbia. It’s a shame it took so long but praises to the detectives of KSP upon bringing closer to such a horrific incident of our past. May God bless all and may our memories of Dennise, Beth, and Joe forever be that of the great love and help they brought to us all.
    ~WM. Martens

    • Mr. Martens- would it be poss to get your email address? I am researching this case and would like to be in touch with you about it. thank you, Natalie

  6. I grew up with Meg, as we were the same age, the Wellnitz family were friends of friends, so there were a couple of times that we played together. I had just left home and moved to Colorado when I got the news of the murder. It shook me then in 1993, and I’ve never forgotten.

    I still find it hard to believe/imagine that she was capable of so much harm. My prayers go out for her.

  7. If anyone that knows meg would like to talk about the crime contact me at trancecontrol2020@yahoo.com. I have been having a hard time getting closure with what happend.

  8. I worked for Meg booking bands at the nightclub she bought. What a nightmare! She always had to be right, and was a control freak, and nobody could tell her “no.” We referred to her as Nutmeg and Megaton Gigantor. She of course acted innocent, and liked the attention for being a “victim.” She’d told me how counselors told her that she was dealing with the events surprisingly well. We had a falling out, and I knew somebody with the ABC who wound up yanking the club’s liquor license. Needless to say, I was thrilled when my sister showed me a newspaper clipping where she’d finally been convicted.

  9. Elaine,
    Even if you feel you were wrongly fired, it doesn’t give you license to make stuff up.

  10. i hate them considering i am a wellnitz and i knew all those people i hope they rot in jail

  11. Jim, the trial is available on CD at the Warren Co Courthouse.

  12. Justin,
    I made nothing up.

  13. The liquor License was fine when I closed the bar. Meg is my best friend and she did like to be right but she was far being a control freak. She did take it well losing her whole family until the aniversary ever year where for a month she was unconsolable. If you take a good look at the available information I would dare you to try and convince me they had enough evidence or any evidence to convict anyone. I know for a fact that case was jacked up by a crazy small town judge who has had several of his cases overturned. Sadly he passed and will never pay for what he did. (except maybe in hell)

  14. I knew Meg briefly. I was good friends with Randy, her future husband. In fact, the whole incident ended the long friendship I had with him. Meg visisted me the weekend before the murders, and I was somewhat of an alibi for her for a while. I went to the funerals… I still have trouble with it all. More questions than answers for me, but I have my faith in God and a wonderful family now and I feel like I personally survived thru a miralce of protection.

  15. Are you seriously suggesting that Murdering Meg and Manslaughter Meece didn’t kill the Wellnitz family? How is it possible that they were able to get two grand-slam convictions out of a case that you say had no evidence? They weren’t convicted by the judge, they were convicted by a jury. Are you saying that the judge engaged in jury tampering to send two innocent people to prison (one to death row) for a multiple murder they didn’t commit? Just because he “didn’t like Meg”? Are you on crack? Meg was/is a total bitch. She had her step-dad, her own mother and brother murdered so she could have a bunch of money to blow on herself and her fucktard friends. Who does that? It’s REALLY easy to “take it well” when you are the one who solicited the murder yourself. How can you be sad that you murdered your own family for money? She is sad NOW because she got caught. I am glad that you enjoyed your time feasting on the blood money she got out of this. If it weren’t for her accomplice finking her out, and all the times she got drunk and went on crying jags about murdering her own family, she would still be stinking up Lexington good and proper. Fuck that evil fat bitch, and anyone who defends her. I hope someone shanks her a few hundred times so we don’t have to pay the money to keep her locked up. Stay off the crack, it’s effecting your judgment….

  16. Carlon- William NEVER went to college, she got ahold of him wanting him to kill them… thats how they met
    Jim- You won’t be able to they dont have anything… trust me
    Heywood- You’re an idoit if you think that… I’m sorry for saying that but I knew him and I delt with him everyday…. He’s a sick minded man

  17. Vicky: William DID go to college, although he did not graduate… he was/is a sick-minded individual. He and Meg met at LCC and had an affair too.

    I was married to him and thank G-d every day that I survived his tyraid, although I almost didn’t. They arrested him a block from my house after threatening my life 39 times the night before.

  18. I know the judge in that little small town called my home. He was not a bad person, I’ve read the court documents and investigation papers, it’s obvious that she conspired to do this, she gave the may a key to the house! I was a freshman in high school at Adair County when this happened. I was sitting in Henrietta Scott’s art class when Meg and Meece walked in about a month after the murders. I only knew them because her parents were my vet. I will never forget how happy she seemed to be that day and I always had a hunch that she had something to do with it.

  19. Fat heifer Meg also should’ve received the death penalty for being an ungrateful cunt! Those defending said fat cunt are just as pathetic.

    • I agree totally. When I saw a picture of her during the beginning of “unusual suspects” I knew she did it. She is a fat disgusting murderer.

    • Looks like Meg agrees with you and decided to fix that situation herself.

  20. I remember when this case happened. Everyone was in total shock. I felt the daughter was suspicious from the beginning when I saw video of the funerals. She was hugged up to Meece and they were whispering in each others ear and smiling,she saw the camera on her and suddenly put her head in her hands and wept. I said then she seemed like a fake manipulative bitch.

  21. For all you morons defending “poor” Meg for having her family slaughtered – the bitch pleaded guilty. How do you get innocence from that? NO judge, corrupt or not, coerced or forced that out of her. I sure as shit wouldn’t say I committed crimes as heinous as parricide and fratricide if I didn’t do it, regardless of the potential sentence. What kind of imbecile would? I don’t wish for God to do horrible things to “poor” Meg. I hope He’s washed His hands of her. Some people deserve no more, and no less. This walking turd is one of those people.

  22. Southern Fried Homicide: Heart of Darkness

    Also, Margaret Appleton was found dead in her cell according to the episode.

Leave a Reply

