  • This Day in Crime History

    Aug. 22: 2011: Kathryn Benoit was shot to death in her Moscow, ID apartment by her former boyfriend, Ernesto Bustamante, who was also an assistant professor in her department at the University of Idaho. He killed himself the next day at a hotel room in Moscow, ID.

  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Goodreads

  • Social Media

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 5,457 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). No negative comments about the victim. NO VICTIM BLAMING. 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc. 3-No comments in ALL CAPS, or CoMeNtS. They are rude and difficult to read. I have had many complaints about it so no more. 4-Comments must be in English only and easy to read (meaning no text language, shortening words, etc.). Have respect for those who don't do text messaging or other lingo. 5 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS. If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).

Boyfriends From Hell: Jayden Casady Cangro murder 7/31/2006 Murray, UT *Phillip Guymon, mother’s boyfriend, arrested and charged with Jayden’s murder*

Say NO to Child Abuse

Jayden Cangro
Jayden Casady Cangro

Find-A-Grave: Jayden Cangro
Unforgotten Children: Jayden Cangro
Man Arrested for Death of Girlfriend’s Child
Murray man booked in death of 2-year-old
Murray man booked in death of 2-year-old
Murray toddler dead; Mother’s boyfriend arrested
New Details in Baby Death Case
Man admits to hurling toddler before boy died
Update: Jayden Cangro murder *Phillip Guymon (aka Phil James) sentenced – to only up to 5 years on prison! Where is justice???

phillip guymon
Phillip James Guymon aka Phil James

61 Responses

  1. Hopefully this man gets convicted to the fullest extent of the law. I am a friend of the family and Jayden didnt even get the chance to live in this life because this man decided to take Jayden’s life and the family will never get the chance to hold him or see him grow up. Phillip Guymon you are a coward and disgrace to humanity. That baby depended on you to protect him from all the bad things in this world and you betrayed Jayden and stole the life out of his little body because you couldnt be a man and take care of him so you killed him. Its between you and God now.

  2. WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE…..
    DON’T WATCH THE KIDS IF YOU CAN’T HANDLE
    IT. SICK FREAKS

  3. This makes me sick. The mom Carly is my cousin. Philip is a sick man and I wish they would raise the charges to something that could put him in jail for longer that the max of 15 he is looking at right now. it makes me sick he is getting off way too easy!

    • Are you aware he just got a job as car salesman at Larry Miller Honda on 45th & State in Murray? ?

      • He is working there my husband works there, someone hired him because he is a friend of the manager who had to be well aware of what he did. What happened to background checks, did he put that he was a felon on parole or probabtion on his application? He should be working on a corner dressed up in some idiotic costume, not a reputable company as in The Larry Miller Group. I know this will be taken care of this as soon as the word gets out to The Miller Group. I’m sure they had now idea. Nobody wants to work with a child killer!!!!!

        • Here are the phone numbers to call and complain:

          Larry H. Miller Honda: 801-262-3331

          Also, call or email KSL: 801-575-5500 or http://www.ksl.com/index.php?nid=205

          I will not patronize any of the Larry H. Miller dealerships or any other business they are involved in, including the Utah Jazz. The latter is not a problem since I hate the Jazz!!

        • Svb, who is your husband? I know plenty of people who work there. Calling that dealership wont do a dang thing.THEY hired him. Now talking to Gail Miller, owner of all the Larry Miller businesses will help..

  4. I have one question to this man. What gave him the right to take away a nephew i will never get to know? To take the life of my brothers son. I pitty his soul when he has to face his crimes in heaven. I never got to meet my nephew so if anyone has pictures of him please email them to m.cangro@yahoo.com

    • You can personally meet this trash. He just got a. Job at Larry Miller Honda on 45th & State St.in Murray.

  5. I have never met Carly, but my boyfriend Jeremy went to school with her and her sister Brandy and I have heard nothing but good things about her. We are sorry for her loss and wish her nothing but the best. To think that someone would do something like this is just mingboggling to me. I hope he never has the chance to hurt anyone ever again, especially children. Rest in peace, Jayden. Keep your head up, Carly.

  6. It’s so nice to see people caring about the victim here. I’m so tired of adults who act like children. Oh…wait a second. That’s what you all are! GET A LIFE!

  7. TO ALL WHO LEAVE A COMMENT ON THIS POST:

    This is not the place for this bickering. I will remove all comments that are argumentative, rude or having really nothing to do with Jaden’s murder. Please remember that this is not a place for you to argue. Go elsewhere for this. Please act respectfully to the victim here. Everyone has strong feelings and emotions, that is true. But I will NOT allow this to become trashy, which it has. NO MORE!

  8. thank you for being willing to monitor your site and for trying to keep it about what it was intended to be about. I am Jayden’s maternal grandmother. Anonymous and Shari are not related to Jayden in any even remote way.

    • My heart goes out to you. This awful man just got a jib as a car salesman at Larry Miller Honda on 45th & State St. With the Miller family being Huge Mormons, I’m seriously confused how that happened.

      • He got the job from The manager who is his friend!!!! How absoulutley stupid of him, I am sure the will both be gone by the end of the day when Gregg Miller hears of this. I have a lot of respect for him and his mother in law was murdered, so he will do the right thing for sure!

  9. Fot those interested in the trial of Phillip Guymon, Jayden Cangro’s murderer, a plea agreement has been reached. He is pleading guilty to the second degree murder charge, but will be sentenced as a Felony three, which only carries 0-5 years.

    • And NOW he just got a job as a car salesman at Larry Miller Honda on 45th st. And State st. In Murray.

  10. Guymon was sent to Utah State Prison yesterday for 5 years.. Site owner, did you not know this? I noticed you have “none recently” under recent convictions.

  11. 5 years?? Is that all they think little Jayden’s life was worth?? That’s an insult. How does these attorney’s sleep at night? I wonder.

  12. Another side,

    I am sorry I have not updated this one, but I have been extremely busy with work and can’t get on here while working. I will be updating this story this weekend. It has actually upset me alot that he only got 5 years. This was NOT justice.

  13. I’m Jayden’s mother and for anyone who decides to take their family problems out on a this site…shame on you. A lot of people have a lot to say about myself and Jayden’s father James. I love my son more than anything in the world as I know James does. Neither of us may be perfect but we would never intentionally put our son or any children in harms way knowing there would be a horrible loss like that of my sweet Jayden. You may have your own opinions and think what you want about both of us, but nobody knows anything about the whole situation that was not directly involved. As for Carol and James fathers side of the family, find somewhere else to bicker and argue.

  14. Carly,

    I am so sorry for what you have gone thru for the last year. I can’t imagine what you are going thru. I have tried to remove most of the comments that are not appropriate and I do apologize that these have been posted and could be offensive to you.

  15. Perhaps Carly should stop visiting Guymon in jail, then, if we are to feel sorry for her.

  16. Does anyone know where James Cangro is? does he have a job? let me guess, he became a firefighter or something…….god knows he could use the haz mat training. I’m sure he is still in mourning over the loss of Jayden….I’m sure he feels terrible……..there are just a few people who would like to have a chat with James……we sure would like to find him and offer our condolences. please post his location so we can mail him some sympathy cards.

    NOTE FROM BLOG OWNER “where’s James?” Your comments are very interesting indeed. You posted 3 altogether, however, 2 of them did not post due to my blog settings. Since you called James names in one of the other comments, why should anyone give you info on him now? Your comments border on threats and are being turned over to the proper authorities to make sure that everything is on the up and up.

  17. May this little boy rest in peace and watch over his mother and sister I do not know this family but my prayers are with them to stay strong and have belief I read this monster only got 5 years but if you try to appeal others have been convicted to death if not life my friends 3 month old daughter was murdered in front of her eyes by her own father and with all of our prayers hopefully he will get death. God bless you and stay strong.

  18. I have lived long enough to have see the deepest depth of the good the bad and the evil. Many of my choices i have made i am not proud of but i have little regret. The coments on this blog broke my heart. Never have i seen such vengeful people. James has burned many bridges in his 20 some odd years and I am the one to tell you i have danced with the demons of hell with and for that man. What has happened to Jaden is devastating. For a child to go through so much for so long is something I will never understand or forgive.You can say he is in a better place and you can try to make me belive that Carlie and James were reckless when they brought him into this world and you can be so hateful as to say god did jayden a favor. But i’ll tell you and the rest the world that James loved that little boy and loosing him before he got to hold him damn near killed him. James is a monster,this I know first hand,but if I had to go through a 1/4 of what he has I would be a monster to.It was Carlys responsibility to protect those kids. James was doing time for her,because of her and I know few monsters that would take there own heat let lone someone else’s. Keep the domestic drama to family functions. Respect yourselfs enough not to cluster up Bonnies Blog with Jerry Springer bullshit. The tragic fact that a child was brutaly murdered and the fact that the man got a slap on the hand is the real issue here. Make a diffrence. Take a stand. Be a voice against child abuse. The choices and drama that James is creating right now is not what we are concerned about. JUSTICE FOR JAYDEN IS WHAT IS IMPORTANT. And i’ll tell you what if someone hurt my baby I’d be a little more than checked out causing havic and mayham. I wood go fucking postal. If anyone has the chance to tell James I was on this blog with my 2 cents tell him i said to man up and get ahold of the only one one who can handle his crazy ass. Believe I am not affraid to beat him up in front of his friends. GET RIGHT JAMES OR YOU’LL BE SEEING ONE MAD MEANIE SOONER THAN YOU THINK.

  19. My name is Brandy and I am, and will always be, Jayden’s aunt. I read these posts and am udderly disgusted that so many of you feel the need to say such low things about Jayden’s parents. Neither my sister nor James may live impeccable lives but I can tell you, beyond a shadow of a doubt that they loved their son. No one, believe me when I tell you, NO ONE has the right to judge what someone deserves. How can anyone say that burying a child is justice served to my sister and James? Or worse yet, it’s justice served to Jayden? Only a truly SICK INDIVIDUAL would dare say that. If you feel the need to call my sister “white trash” or insult James or sink to the lowest level of name-calling, do it somewhere else. I can’t think of anything more low class than the insults you have, yourselves written or a topic as somber as a child’s untimely death. You are blindly ignoring the fact that MANY MANY people that loved and cared for Jayden are suffering everyday. You are attempting to exploite a deep, mind-numbing pain that no one should have to experience just so you can throw your ignorance about the situation onto a public site for…….what? I’m still not sure, really. To place blame? To show your hatred towards two people? To feel better about the loss of this beautiful boy? Whatever the reason, ask yourself deep in your heart about how it must have felt for a family to learn that Jayden is gone forever. That, all efforts exhausted, they could not save Jayden. That his lifeless body is all that’s left. That, no matter how much you try, you cannot seem to go a day without feeling an emptiness that will never again be filled. I still have nightmares about that night. Believe me when I tell you that, in your heart, you know that you are not doing anything but adding to the already unimaginable amount of pain we as a family suffer with. A cruel, vengful heart probably still will not reflect on the hurtful things they have said but I hope that there is more humanity in the world than what has been expressed on this site.

  20. To Carly, I am so sorry for your lose. I haven’t seen you in a while, but my thoughts and prayers are with you. I know you love your son. I know you dont need to be reading other peoples crap. They have no idea what you are going through and how it has been on you. I have known you since you were 11 years old. I know you love and care very deeply for those that you love.
    NOW FOR THE REST OF YOU:
    WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU ARE WRITNG THE CRAP THAT YOU DO? WHAT MAKES YOU SO PERFECT THAT YOU ARE FREE TO JUDGE WHO EVER YOU WANT? WHO MADE YOUR LIFE SO PERFECT AND STRESS FREE THAT YOU HAVE NO PROBLEMS AND HAVE NEVER MADE A MISTAKE OR ERROR IN JUDGEMENT? IF YOUR ANSWER BACK IS “YES I CAN” YOUR FULL OF IT!!! NO MAN HAS THE RIGHT TO JUDGE ANOTHER MAN. WE ARE ALL HUMAN ONE PERSON DOESN’T MAKE ANOTHER PERSOON LESS IMPORTANT BECAUSE OF THIER WAY OF LIFE,LIVING. SHA,E ON ALL OF YOU WHO THINK YOUR SO MUCH BETTER THAT YOU CAN SIT THERE AND SAY HORRIBLE THINGS TO A MOTHER WHO LOST HER SON. HOW CAN YOU SLEEP AT NIGHT KNOWING YOUR MAKING IT HARDER TO HEAL FROM THIS. THAT IN MY MIND MAKES YOU EVIL. JUST AS EVIL AS THE HORRILBE PEOPLE THAT CAN HURT CHILDREN. YOU SAYING THOSE KIND OF THINGS IN SUCH A HURTFUL MANNER ON A SAD MATTER MAKES YOUR SOUL DARK. I HOPE THAT ONE DAY YOU GET THE CHANCE TO FEEL WHAT IT IS LIKE TO BE JUDGED SO WRONG AND YOU KNOW WHAT PEOPLE ARE THINKING ARE WRONG, BUT THERE ARE PUNKS (THAT IS WHAT YOU ARE, EVEN WORSE BUT THOSE WORDS WOULDN’T BE RIGHT OR LADY LIKE TO SAY) THAT JUST DON’T GET IT AND ARE PURE EVIL AND HURTFUL, THAT IS THE GROUP YOU ALL BELONG IN. WHERE IS YOUR HEARTS? WHERE IS YOUR COMPASSION? WERE YOU BORN WITHOUT ANY? MAYBE YOU SHOULD SEE WHAT YOUR PARENTS DID THAT WAS SO WRONG THAT THEY RASIED YOU TO BE RUDE, WITH NO RESPECT AND NO HEART

  21. […] Ronald “Butch” DeFeo 11/14/74 Amityville, NY Downs Children shooting/murder 5/19/83 Springfield, ORJaden Cangro murder 7/31/06Missing: Deanna Glass since 11/14/07 from Chicago, IL 2 Bodies Found Under Shed in Southern Utah […]

  22. My prayers go out to James that he continue in his visionquest to live his life to honor his son. James, keep sketching, it is one of your true talents.

  23. I don’t feel one bit sorry for the monster James who threw this 2 year old down and murdered him.. He should serve life in prison and not five years…

    I feel sorry for the mother who was at work and was not able to protect her son.

    RIP baby Jayden

  24. lavonna, james is the boy’s father, not the murderer. Only Phillip can claim that role.

  25. Sorry but Phillip’s middle name is James and he is the butthole I was referring to.. Not the real father.. My heart goes out to the father James. Not trying to hurt the family.

  26. val, I was referring to Phillip James the one who threw him and murdered him. I am sorry if I hurt any feelings of Jayden’s family. I would never want to hurt anyone who has went through this.

  27. Im sorry to say but, i think the father should get life in prision because, if no one wants to say this but if you can put your hands on a child and know from right or wrong, and throw this poor baby across the room, this sick man should be in prision for life, because he took away an innocient child’s life, for no reason just because he was crying and the father supposedly couldnt handle it, if you couldnt handle it the father should of called the girlfriend and tell her that she need to come home. How can people do this to an innocient child

    note from blog owner
    It was not the father who killed this beautiful child. It was the mother’s boyfriend.

  28. Oh my god:-( Did I read that right? Five years for stealing a toddlers entire lifetime? What a disgrace! That is so wrong and that baby deserved better:-( R.I.P. Little Jayden

  29. For all those that stand up for the biological “Father”…..The people that stood up for him and spoke out on his behalf as a good caring man??? Well the loser is as of now (06/12/09) on an “APB” or All Points Bulliten for Attempted Murder in Oklahoma. He was said by the POLICE that he shot a man in the head and then took his wallet. And he is considered armed and dangerous. All this while living with MY three nieces! Hows that for a kind, caring and loving Father?
    I have nothing bad to ever say about Carly or Jayden….just the other monster!

  30. Does anyone anyone know what was wrong with Phillip,drugs maybe? I know if he would have done such a horrific thing here in Texas he would be executed, don’t ya’ll have the death penalty?

  31. Happy Birthday Jayden, Your Daddy thinks about you every min. of every day. Rest in Peace Lil one we love you.

  32. Does anyone know how long the mother was with the boyfriend ? rip jayden

  33. Scumbag was released from prison yesterday. My heart is with Carly and her loved ones during this painful time.
    I can’t believe the ‘monsters’ who feel entitled to question Carly’s love for her son. She has endured the unbearable. She endures the unbearable every day. She will always have to endure the unbearable.
    Do any of you have kids? Can you even begin to imagine how painful it must be? I can. I pray I never have to face such pain, and I admire Carly for her perseverance and think she is a great mother.

    Feel shame for intentionally adding to another HUMAN BEING’S torture. This is not the type of wound to rub SALT in. People that are capable of such CRUELTY are no better than murderers. Except for the pain you all are inflicting just keeps going, doesn’t it? Walk a mile.

  34. I feel bad that this happened to little Jayden, but James Cangro is white trash and nothing but a fucking snitch.

  35. Listen, this story breaks my heart so bad. I am so so sorry for this mother. I think you all should know, this worthless piece of trash JUST GOT A JOB AT LARRY MILLER HONDA. AT 45TH & STATE ST. Now I work with the Miller business. I wont say which one but I know a lot of the Miller family.personally and I find it really hard to believe Gail Miller would approve of this guy working there. I think everyone should pull together and assure he doesn’t have a job working thereno longer.

    • Concerened in Chicago,

      Since you work for the Miller Group, do you know why the manager and that child killer are still working there? CRAZY!!!!

  36. The murderer skum bag still has hs job at Larry Miller Honda in Murray. I don’t understand this. I’m sure the Miller’s are aware by now and they have
    done nothing? From what I have read, the manager hired him because he knew him, so he knew of his past and he is responsible and should be fired.
    What is the Miller Group waiting for??? I have really have lost respect for the Miller Group.

  37. A little good news… Thanks to all of you, that vermin has lost his job at LHM Honda. Nice work to all who made phone calls and sent messages! THANK YOU!

  38. Mylifeofcrime… Your efforts were VERY well received, and did much damage in the right places! I am in the know. Great work! By the way, here’s the latest on our least favorite bag of shit. He now works at Karl Malone Toyota. And they know what he did, yet still hired him. That beautiful little boy didn’t get a second chance. Why should this asshole get one????

    • Ok I guess my previous post was deleted so I’m going to try this again. I agree with you all that this man is an awful person! And what he did was horrible and no one should ever have to endure the pain Carly and her family have! I am regretfully going to admit to all of you I am the mother of this mans 2 children. I also believe he should have spent life in prison but I have also been the sole provider of these kids for 2 years. I have worked 60 hours a week to provide for them. If he is going to be out of jail shouldn’t he have to have a job to pay me the child support he rightfully owes? The day this piece of shit got out of prison I opened the case with oRS and I filed for all of the back child support as well. Let me assure you I am not condoning what he did, I just want him to be able to pay me $! He is a scammer if he doesn’t have a legitimate job where ORS can garnish his check he will still find a way to make money but if that is the case his children will be the ones to suffer because you all got him fired! Not him! Please just let the man keep a job!

      • No, your other post was not deleted, it had not yet been approved. I am not on here constantly. I understand that he needs money to support himself and his children. However, that being said, he should not be in a job that he is not really qualified for, that others who have not killed children should get. He did not get the job because he was qualified but because of friendship. He should have to start at the bottom. Be a janitor, work at fast food, work at WalMart, etc. Somewhere where he has to work to prove what he can be. How is it fair that he can just walk in and get a job that others worked hard to get, and he gets it because he knows someone? In this economy, that is not fair. Personally, I will never patronize any of the Larry H. Miller companies or Karl Malone’s companies.

  39. I agree that this guy is a piece of SHIT and should have spent more time in prison for the awful crime. But he also has other responsibilities and 2 children that he should be helping with financially!! He has paid his debt to society! Now he should be able to help.provide for the children he does have who he has NOT been able to provide for for the last 5 years. How is he going to be able to do this if you all keep trying to get him fired. AND HOW CAN YOU JUDGE? Who are you to judge anyways? He will have to answer to god when the time comes he should not have to answer to all of you and his kids have already paid enough for the choices that he has made, why should they have to keep paying for decisions their father made because you self righteous people think you are such great people, one day you will also have to answer God. Think of his children and let the man have a job.

  40. I knew someone would bring god into this sooner or later. None of us are going to answer to your magic man in the sky. Ever. So he will never be properly punished. He deserves to live like a stray dog the rest of his life, and I don’t really care if you have kids with him, it’s your own fault for that. I would just keep them away from him, in case he gets mad one day and “can’t control himself”. I have no sympathy for you whatsoever. My mom had to raise two kids by herself as well, as my dad went to prison for almost EIGHT YEARS for holding up a bank, and by the way, we never got any child support. This asshole did only FIVE for killing a child. My dad actually met the man he held a gun to later in his life and was able to apologize. Jayden will NEVER get the luxury of an “I’m sorry”. I don’t give a shit about your pligh, and neither should anyone else. At least your kids are alive.

    By the way, as soon as the Larry Miller Group found out about this, they let him go. He does still work at Karl Malone Toyota though.

  41. Do you know where this psycho is working now??? Fifth mission marketing in lehi Utah!!! He does not deserve to work and have a life!!! Oh and of course he was allowed to legally change his name to Phil James!! WTF is that he can date anyone and hurt their children with our the mother even having a clue as to the monster he really is!!! Maybe if people google Phil James South Jordan, Utah it will link them here??? What ridiculous judge allows this????

    • Yes, he is working there and the owner is not concerned about his background, KNOWING his background and that he has changed his name to avoid people knowing who he is. It is very sad indeed. I received 3 emails today giving me all of this information, including the work info, so I added it to the other post. http://wp.me/p1gRX-188

    • this scumbag actually works at Karl Malone Toyota last I heard, which was about a week ago. Please call them and let them know how you feel about it!

Leave a Reply

