  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,739 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    3 - Please remember to not use all CAPS or capitalize the beginning letter of every single word or every other word, or use IM/text abbreviations (except like LOL). Please have respect for other readers and type words out. Not everyone is into that and it is inappropriate here. [examples: "cuzn" "tha" "dat" and so many more] Learn proper English! You should have learned it in school.
    4 - Your comments must be all in English, using proper English, too. No huge run-on sentences (use punctuation). Pretend you learned something in English class.
    5 - I will also not allow Anonymous comments. This includes using anonymous, obviously fake email addresses (you@you.com, me@me.com, anonymous@yahoo.com, or fictional characters, etc.)
    6 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    7 - You must be 18 years of age or older to comment.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


Charles Eddie Shannon murder 4/13/1986 Dale County, AL *Phillip Hallford executed for killing daughter’s boyfriend*

Choctawhatchee River

When 16-year-old Charles Eddie Shannon was murdered by Phillip Hallford, Melinda Hallford was pregnant with Eddie’s child. Their son’s name is Michael Hallford. I hope he and his mother, Melinda, are moving on with their lives and doing as well as they can.

Phillip D. Hallford v. State of Alabama 1988
Hallford v Culliver 2004
Phillip Hallford – AL – 19 March 2009 – Stayed
Supreme Court to rule on Hallford execution stay
Phillip D. Hallford #1233
Murderpedia: Phillip D. Hallford
Dale County Murderer Phillip Hallford Executed
Alabama Death Row inmate Phillip Hallford executed for killing daughter’s boyfriend
Alabama inmate executed for 1987 teen killing

Books
Voices in the Field: A Collection of Short Stories (The story Life & Death was inspired by Eddie)

Movies/Documentaries
Dates From Hell: Bullet For My Baby

Phillip Hallford
Phillip Hallford

17 Responses

  1. Well, there goes another condemned man who make it nearly a quarter of a century between the date of his sentence and his execution. This has got to change.

  2. I have huge respect for melinda. I didn’t get to see the whole thing (but I will) and its one of the few tiimes in my life that one of these shows has really effected me to the point I felt the need to somehow to let this woman know what an amazing woman she is. I almost couldn’t watch it due to my own life experiences..but I’m glad I did because she inspired me to the point I was talking to the tv. I wish her nothing but blessings and peace. She is truly a diamond in the rough and and I wish I could say all of this to her. My hope is someone will make sure she knows that her story isn’t over and that there are folks that need to see and hear her.

  3. I saw the show on TV tonight about this
    case and iI watched in tears through a majority of it.
    NO REASON WHAT SO EVER THIS MONSTER SHOULD HAVE LIVED THE YEARS HE DID IN PRISON WHEN HE TOOK THE LIFE OF ANOTHER…AND A CHILD …NO EXCUSE.
    My heart is broken tonight for that poor young boy who never got the chance to
    live his life. & having a child that he never would know & vice versa.
    God bless Melinda & her stepbrother.
    I wish them all a very happy & peaceful life..GOD BLESS EDDIE..RIP SWEET BOY….
    I HATE TO BE ANGRY..BUT TO THAT MONSTER…YOU DESERVE NO MERCY ON YOUR TOXIC SOUL !!

    • You got that right Kathy…That cop that arrested him in the motel room should have blown his ass away!…I just do NOT understand why Melinda gave the baby that sorry ass man’s last name…he should have been his fathers namesake!

  4. So sad

  5. She should have been arrested as well. Scared 15 she was having sex with the murder teenager. Scare. REALLY?? How do we know the child is not by the father? If the father was so awful then why would you allow Eddie’s child to have the same last name of that animal? God forgive me for judging. A lot of her story does not make sense

    • Jewel,

      I believe they did a DNA test on the child. I am sorry you don’t believe her. Personally, I do. Have you ever been 15 and been raped by your father for years? Not exactly the normal story of a teenager. How do you know how you would act? Everyone is different and you don’t know how you would act until you are in that specific situation. Life may not be perfect for her now (living with those memories), but she is moving on and doing better.

      • you got that right, mylifeofcrime. Jewel, You can’t judge her, her life was hell, lucky it’s not you in her shoes.

  6. I’ve been on my own since I was 14years old. Believe me I know what its like! Yes. Everyone is different! I’ve experience the worst pain rapes you name it it has happen! The same way she was able to bring Eddie to her house to have sex is the same way she could have dial 911! I just don’t understand why keep that monster last name and give the name to the child? It does not make sense!

  7. I saw the episode just a few minutes ago and my heart was broken. This story touched me so deeply that I felt a need to respond. I have a son that is nearly Eddie’s age and I can not imagine what his family has gone through. As for Melinda, I am sorry for all she endured and having never been in her situation, I can not imagine how I would have reacted. But I am glad that She has a part of Eddie with her, I hope that Eddie’s family is able to have a relationship with their grandchild. There is no replacement for your own child, but maybe they have some comfort that a part of him is here.

  8. I just watched this show and was sincerely saddened for Eddie and the trap that was set for him! If if had been me I wld not have made that phone call (my life or not) I wld NOT have helped set him up like that! And, futhermore, I would have run over my Dad’s ass with the car and went to get help right then! Why did she never report the raping after all those years? I’m sure she cld have gone to someone. This poor boy was lured in and his life taken and she helped!!! God rest his soul.

    • Obviously you have never been in an abusive relationship. It changes you and you do things you normally would not do. So, until you have been in her shoes, don’t judge her and decide what you would do if you had been in that place. You honestly don’t know what you would do.

      • There are many people who are or were in abusive relationships. This doesn’t mean follow what the abuser is telling you. We’re talking about someone’s life here. Imagine if that was your child. You wouldn’t care if she was in an abusive household you would care if your child was murdered.

    • And I’m with mylifeofcrime…Robin nor Jewel do not know the horrors of being in a prolonged relationship where you are being told, conditioned, threatened, convinced, baited…and then the terrible dilemma of a big burley man abusing a small scared girl…and no mention of a mama or any sort of maternal figure in her life…for support. You guys have cold hearts. Jewel, the PTS symptoms of being raped isn’t something women are able to “will” out of their lives. Those memories come back and many times with a stranger and different power to hurt. Jewel, I fear the only way you’ll truly understand, is if this dilemma hits you personally. And that would be horrible… COMPASSION is lacking on this board. Just by watching the interview, you can see the poor woman has had a big chunk of her soul robbed from her…

    • It’s so easy to say what you ‘would have’ done in a situation when you aren’t the one faced with it. We hear so often about women who stay in abusive relationships with their husbands because they feel helpless and scared. In this case, she was a 15 year old girl and the abuser was her own father. I, for one, can’t begin to imagine the fear Melinda must have been living with from a very young age. And don’t forget, this was over 20 years ago…long before such types of abuse were discussed in public, making the victims unaware of where to turn for help. I’m just glad to learn that she has been able to make a life for herself and her child. Of course, it goes without saying that my heart aches for young Eddie and his family. This was such a sad story.

    • what show was it on?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,739 other followers

