  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,681 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    3 - Please remember to not use all CAPS or capitalize the beginning letter of every single word or every other word, or use IM/text abbreviations (except like LOL). Please have respect for other readers and type words out. Not everyone is into that and it is inappropriate here. [examples: "cuzn" "tha" "dat" and so many more] Learn proper English! You should have learned it in school.
    4 - Your comments must be all in English, using proper English, too. No huge run-on sentences (use punctuation). Pretend you learned something in English class.
    5 - I will also not allow Anonymous comments. This includes using anonymous, obviously fake email addresses (you@you.com, me@me.com, anonymous@yahoo.com, or fictional characters, etc.)
    6 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    7 - You must be 18 years of age or older to comment.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


Joel Leyva murder 3/22/2010 Albuquerque, NM *Angela Sanford pled no contest; sentenced to 20 years in prison*

Joel Leyva obituary
Man Murdered Allegedy During Wiccan Celebration of Spring
APD arrests Wiccan follower for murder
Wiccan Woman Charged With Murder, Stabbed Victim With Ceremonial Knife, Say Cops
New Mexico Wiccan sentenced to 20 years for murder
2nd-degree murder in lawmaker’s sights

Movies/Documentaries
Fatal Encounters: Wicked

INMATE INFORMATION

Last Name: SANFORD
First Name: ANGELA
Middle Name:
NMCD#: 74461
Offender#: 487857
Offender Status: INMATE
Facility/Region: NMWCF
Probation/Parole Officer:

Demographics

Height: 5ft 4in
Weight: 152
Eye Color: BROWN
Hair Color: BROWN
Complexion: LIGHT
Ethnicity:
Religion:
Education: 0
Date of Birth: 01/14/80
Birth State: NM
Last Known City/State: ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Alias:

Current Offense(s)
MURDER 2ND DEGREE (D-202-CR-2010-01638 )

18 Responses

  1. I say the story about mr.leyva on fatal encounter I am so sorry for your loss I buried my son several years ago I know the pain of loss if ever you need to talk e-mail me

    • Desiree,
      This blog is not personally associated with Mr. Leyva or his family. I cannot guarantee that they will get your comment. I just thought I would let you know that. I would love to hear from them, however. I hope they are doing okay. My heart goes out to them as well.

      • Thank you for your support. We are a strong family and will get through this difficult time.

        • So sorry abt the loss but url are in our prayers the lord and holy spirit is ur comforter.

        • Ruben, I watch the program just this week. So very sorry for your family’s loss. I understand strong families. Ruben, when I saw your face on the screen I did a triple-take. You are the splitting image of my father (when he was a young man), who has since died. Our family is also Leyva. I had a brother Ruben, who has also walked on. We are a large family from Texas (the majority of us have moved to many other areas of the US, New Mexio, Arizona, Washington State, California . . . ) I hope I’m not intruding at a this time. I would like to know if you or your family may be related . My father’s name is Anselmo.
          Thank you

    • Thank you for Desiree for your support. Ruben Leyva

  2. I just watched Fatal Encounters featuring this story. What a senseless act. Very sad

  3. My heart goes out to the family of Joel Leyva. What a horrible thing to happen to someone who reached out a helping hand and seemed like a kind soul. I hope the family can overcome the grief the must feel and Angela Sandford will realize the life she took away is deeply loved and missed.

  4. I watched this episode on Fatal Encounters on Monday night and thought to myself what a senseless killing this was. Mr. Leyva was just a happy go lucky gentleman who was just trying to help a girl in need. What a tragedy that she took advantage of him. I think she planned this “ritual” from the first day she met him. I don’t think she even realizes the hurt she has caused this family. My thoughts and prayers are with the Leyva family and hope that the memories of your father will bring you much comfort. May God Bless!!

  5. It is sad that this victim was murdered, but the thing that readers loose sight of is that Wicca is a peaceful religion. Wiccans do not do “sacrifices.”

    This killer was no Wiccan. The Wiccan creed is “Do no harm!”

    On the other hand, there are cases were xtians murder people just because they are atheists. On October 18, 2004, Arthur Shelton, a self described Christian and Eagle Scout, murdered his friend and roommate, Larry Hooper, because Hooper didn’t believe in God.

    In another case, Spc. Jose Ramirez was allegedly murdered by his friend Justin Green because he was an atheist.

    In fact, there are more xtiians in prison for murder and other crimes. Wiccans and atheists do not even make up 1% of the US prison population.

    This defendant murdered because she was a nut, not because she was a wiccan.

  6. I just watched this sad story on tv. Sanford does not show any emotion at all, she is a very sick individual, I hope Mr Leyva’s family get to see true justice in this case, it’s a sad day when prosecutors have to make their decisions based on whether a single juror can hold up a case but that’s our judicial system I would have preferred the death penalty of course, although I am a christian and believe in forgiveness I hate to see someone so smug and uncaring in the aftermath of such a horrible crime. I pray for the Leyva family my heart feels your pain.

    • again, sorry for the loss, such an unessesary murder, but i would question mr Leyva intentions to meet such a deranged girl in the first place.

  7. I am glad Angela received the maximum of 20 years.. of course, I assume this also means she may be eligible for parole in 10 yrs. It is a shame with the evidence of his being entered and labeled in her cell phone as “sacrifice” and the sacrificial knife, etc., that prosecutors were still too afraid to go for Murder 1st degree for fear one juror could hold out. Naturally, this happens.. look at OJ, Caysee and Caylee Anthony case, etc..
    What a psychopath Angela is. Ultimately she will answer to God. I am sure she will be denied paroles. I hope each time she comes up for parole, the parole board is bombarded with persons and letters against it.. This always helps keep them behind bars, where she belongs.

  8. I didn’t know Joel Leyva and Angela Sanford but I did see the ‘Wicked’ episode of Fatal Encounters. I want to give my condolences to Mr. Leyva’s family. So sorry for your loss.

  9. Reposting to Ruben Leyva:

    Ruben, I watch the program just this week. So very sorry for your family’s loss. I understand strong families. Ruben, when I saw your face on the screen I did a triple-take. You are the splitting image of my father (when he was a young man), who has since died. Our family is also Leyva. I had a brother Ruben, who has also walked on. We are a large family from Texas (the majority of us have moved to many other areas of the US, New Mexio, Arizona, Washington State, California . . . ) I hope I’m not intruding at a this time. I would like to know if you or your family may be related . My father’s name is Anselmo.
    Thank you

    • Cielo Rojo. Thank you for your support. Joel is truly missed. My Father was raised in Juarez and Las Cruces. Jose Aranda Leyva.

  10. Just watched the program on this brutal, senseless murder. Of course the perpetrator was not a Wiccan, she was a sociopath. My condolences to the family and friends of Mr. Leyva. I lost my brother and cousin this year, but to natural causes and that is difficult enough, but to lose a loved one to a horrific murder – I cannot conceive of the grief and rage that would engender. I hope the family and friends are doing well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,681 other followers

