  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,671 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    3 - Please remember to not use all CAPS or capitalize the beginning letter of every single word or every other word, or use IM/text abbreviations (except like LOL). Please have respect for other readers and type words out. Not everyone is into that and it is inappropriate here. [examples: "cuzn" "tha" "dat" and so many more] Learn proper English! You should have learned it in school.
    4 - Your comments must be all in English, using proper English, too. No huge run-on sentences (use punctuation). Pretend you learned something in English class.
    5 - I will also not allow Anonymous comments. This includes using anonymous, obviously fake email addresses (you@you.com, me@me.com, anonymous@yahoo.com, or fictional characters, etc.)
    6 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    7 - You must be 18 years of age or older to comment.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


McCarthy AK Massacre 3/1/1983 *Louis Hastings vowed to kill everyone in McCarthy; pled no contest, received 594 years in prison*

Victims
Christopher Richards, 29 [survived]
Donna Byram, 32 [survived]
Maxine Edwards, 52
Les Hegland, 64
Flo Hegland, 58
Harley King, 61
Tim Nash, 38
Amy Nash

I was not able to find pictures of any of the victims. If you have one you would like to share, please let me know.

Louis Hastings release date: Scheduled Release Date: 03/04/2406 – my guess is that he just may not make it.

Murderpedia: Louis D. Hastings
Gunman Kills Six in Alaska Village
Gunman goes on rampage, kills six
Man Pleads No Contest To Charges Of Killing 6
Killer may have intended to slay others
McCarthy killer gets 634 years
Louis D. Hastings v. State of Alaska
The End Of The Road
McCarthy Alaska

Books
Murder at 40 Below: True Crime Stories from Alaska

Movies/Documentaries
Alaska: Ice Cold Killers: Frozen Terror

INMATE INFORMATION

Offender Name: LOUIS D HASTINGS
Offender ID:1200
Date of Birth:01/01/1944
Age: 68
Race: White
Gender: Male

Custody Status: In Custody
Location of Offender:Spring Creek Correctional Center

Scheduled Release Date: 03/04/2406

12 Responses

  1. I saw a documentary of this murder spree on The Discovery channel this evening. It was really shocking. That Alaska town, McCarthy, has no electricity, no phone service, no running water, and no plumbing. It’s really that last frontier, but it’s residents wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

  2. It just goes to prove that a person is not safe anywhere on Earth

  3. Louis Hastings was released in 2003. So, he served less than 20 years on his 600 year sentence for murdering 6 people. Our justice system at work.

    • jonathan,

      I don’t know where you got your information, but according to the Alaska DOC, you are incorrect. I just got off of the phone with them and the information I posted under INMATE INFORMATION is correct. He is incarcerated at the Spring Creek Correctional Center.

      • This is one time I hope I am incorrect. I got this information today off the Federal Inmate Locator site. Says he was “released” in 2003. But maybe that means he was actually transferred into the custody of the state?

        • Yes, he is not a federal inmate. He is in the custody of Alaska DOC. If he had been in federal custody and it says released, that does not mean released to the streets. If an inmate has state time, they go to state prison. The federal inmate locator is very limited in the information presented.

  4. I just saw the documentry and it sent chills down my spine. Are we ever safe in this cruel world?

  5. I am watching it now….agree with chills and just total disbelief anyone could be so cruel. Instead of life they should have shot him. Someone in his past had to have known he was not right…..he is just a sick person who should not be allowed to live. In this case I firmly believe in the death penalty.

  6. I dont think there is anything cruel enough to payback for his cruelty to those innocent people. We can never understand what , why he did this.

  7. just finished watching this documentary. i find it rather disturbing and sick that one man would so such things to innocent people for no reason.

  8. Louis Hastings was an eco-terrorist. He was an extreme environmentalist, and he intended to kill all of the residents in McCarthy so he could then blow up the trans-Alaskan pipeline without being stopped and without the police being called in immediately.

  9. someone please tell me how I can just packup and move to place like that. minus the Louis hastings. I have got to go live in a remote place . its the life stile I have alwas wanted.how can I do it broke!! p.s will be in Wasilla ak 08/11/2014 maybe I can get an awnser then..if you have any tips let me know.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,671 other followers

