  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,765 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    3 - Please remember to not use all CAPS or capitalize the beginning letter of every single word or every other word, or use IM/text abbreviations (except like LOL). Please have respect for other readers and type words out. Not everyone is into that and it is inappropriate here. [examples: "cuzn" "tha" "dat" and so many more] Learn proper English! You should have learned it in school.
    4 - Your comments must be all in English, using proper English, too. No huge run-on sentences (use punctuation). Pretend you learned something in English class.
    5 - I will also not allow Anonymous comments. This includes using anonymous, obviously fake email addresses (you@you.com, me@me.com, anonymous@yahoo.com, or fictional characters, etc.)
    6 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    7 - You must be 18 years of age or older to comment.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


Update: Jessica Lyn Keen murder *After 17 years, an arrest is finally made – Marvin Lee Smith Jr. pleads guilty to her murder, sentenced to 30 years to life in prison*


  Jessica Lyn Keen

Jessica Lyn Keen murder
Timeline: Jessica Lyn Keen murder investigation
Arrest Made In 17-Year-Old Case
DNA brings arrest in ’91 rape, killing
Man Arrested In 1991 Slaying
Police: DNA leads to arrest of N.C. man in teen’s 1991 death
Jessica Keen Killer Convicted of her 1991 murder
Film crew gets footage for murder case story
Wikipedia: Jessica Keen

Movies/Documentaries
Extreme Forensics: Running for her Life
On the case with Paula Zahn: Secrets From the Grave

INMATE INFORMATION

MARVIN LEE SMITH JR
Number: A605036
DOB: 11/19/1956
Gender: Male
Race: Black
Admission Date: 04/07/2009
Institution: Lebanon Correctional Institution
Status: INCARCERATED
Offense Information
AGG MURDER Counts: 1 ORC: 2903.01 4
Committing County: MADISON Admission Date: 04/07/2009 Degree of Felony: AM

Sentence Information
Mandatory Sentence: 30 years
Indefinite Sentence Min: 30 years
Indefinite Sentence Max: Life Sentence
Expiration of Max Sentence: 01/01/8888

Parole Hearing Information
Next Parole Board Hearing/Review Month: March 2038
Latest Parole Board Hearing/Review Type & Results: FIRST HEARING

17 Responses

  1. Comment from Roudabeh Izadi:

    I was Jessica’s very close childhood friend. I have been trying to find her mom for a few years. Please post my note. Let her know that I have not forgotten, my mother has not forgotten and we still love and miss Jessica. My name is Roudabeh. Becky, please contact me if you can. I am trying to figure out when he will be sent to Columbus to stand trial. I will be there.

  2. I can’t believe someone is finally being held accountable for this horrible crime. I have been following it for years. Ever since the day I saw the cross at the cemetary where she had been murdered. I can only hope he suffers as she did.

  3. It was on the news and in the burlington paper.I was the one who wrote the paper.I hate like hell this had to happen i have no feelings for Mavin but hate. They changed his court day I dont know when i heard it from a friend.

  4. I was following this case because a classmate of mine was also found in Madison County and even though I figured there was probably no connection it made me curious. Incidentilly she disappeared from within a mile or 2 of where Jessica Keen disappered but it was in 1983. I’m glad they finally caught this guy.

  5. This man has been brought to Columbus and will stand trial in June. Becky, I will let the family know you are thinking of them.

  6. Jessica and I went to school together. She played Tom Sawyer in our Middle school musical, I played Mary, Tom’s cousin. Those are happy memories I have of her and I’m grateful to have them. My heart goes out to all the families involved in this tragedy. I hope the arrest of this man will begin to heal the wounds those of who knew Jessica have had for the past 17 years.

  7. I too, lost a younger to a violent predator 27 years ago. This new just brings it all to the surface. Her killers were never caught. I hope Jessica has the justice we all seek when our loved ones are snatched from us.

  8. RIP JESSICA

  9. can someone please tell me when marvin lee smith’s court date is?

  10. j’s mom the trial begins march 9 1909 the first few days will be choosien the jury you may want to check when the actual trial is…justice for jessica!!!! thank all of your support the more there the bettercontact the london court house.

  11. I have typed u before as u may or may not remember! I am looking forward to the trial & getting to meet u for the very first time. I am the 15yr old girl who had e-mailed u a few months ago. I want u to know that u r one of the strongest people i know. After hearing this story my WHOLE life i can’t wait to put faces with the people i have tried to visualize. I have watched the news and read all the stories and articles. I can’t wait to c the man get what he deserves. After all the pain and heart ache u can finally know who did this terrible thing to u beloved daughter! I’ll c u at the trial!

    note from blog owner
    This case was settled earlier in the week. Marvin Smith pled guilty and was sentenced to 30 years to life in prison.

  12. I knew Marvin for years. I worked with him at one point, but I would have never thought he could have committed such a horrible crime. He appeared to be such a nice guy, but that goes to show you could never really know a person. My prayers really goes out to Jessicas family. I feel he got what he deserved. How could he take someone baby away from them. I’m still in shock. Jessica mom you’re a very strong woman and I’m going to continue to pray for you and your family. God Bless!

  13. Jessica can finally rest in peace.I will always remember her and her family.may we never forget her!!

  14. I am so glad that Jessica mother and her family Finally know what happen. I hope that Marvin Smith never see the light of day again.

  15. I just watched the documentary… can someone perhaps explain why scumbags like these are kept alive??? Though I consider myself a good Christian, I do believe in “eye for an eye” for such cases!

  16. I also just watched the documentary but I missed the last part around sentencing ( if it was also in the documentary). What was the sentence for the convicted?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,765 other followers

