  • Email me!

  • My Twitter Page

  • Donate

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,528 other followers

  • How to unsubscribe from my blog

    Unfollowing and Unsubscribing WordPress.com username account: 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails. 2. go here > http://wordpress.com/#!/read/edit/ locate and click the "x" next to any blog there to unfollow it and no longer receive posts in the Reader or by email. 3. go to the blog in question and click the unfollow/follow link on your Admin bar. If you do not have a WordPress.com username account then 1. applies. 1. click the "unsubscribe" link on the emails of the posts received at the very bottom of the emails.
  • Subscribe to my blog via email

  • Comment Policy

    Please remember when leaving a comment on my blog that all comments are subject to the blog owners discretion. I do believe in freedom of speech, however, that right is not absolute. Here are the rules: 1 - Please remember the victim(s) first and foremost. Do not come here to comment only on the offender(s). My blog focuses on the victim(s). Do not glorify the killer(s). 2 - I will not tolerate hate filled speech, vulgar or derogatory remarks about a victim. I will remove comments that go against this. I will not remove comments just because they do not match my beliefs, in fact, I welcome them! However, that being said, I will remove those that I find offensive, argumentative just for the sake of starting an argument that does not add to the post, hate-filled speech, etc.
    3 - Please remember to not use all CAPS or capitalize the beginning letter of every single word or every other word, or use IM/text abbreviations (except like LOL). Please have respect for other readers and type words out. Not everyone is into that and it is inappropriate here. [examples: "cuzn" "tha" "dat" and so many more] Learn proper English! You should have learned it in school.
    4 - Your comments must be all in English, using proper English, too. No huge run-on sentences (use punctuation). Pretend you learned something in English class.
    5 - I will also not allow Anonymous comments. This includes using anonymous, obviously fake email addresses (you@you.com, me@me.com, anonymous@yahoo.com, or fictional characters, etc.)
    6 - ALL COMMENTS LEFT BY COMMENTORS ARE THEIR OWN AND THEIR OPINIONS. THEY DO NOT CONSTITUTE FACTS. NOR IS THE BLOG OWNER RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYONE'S OPINIONS OR FEELINGS. STATEMENTS MADE AS COMMENTS ARE OPINIONS, GIVEN FREELY BY THE COMMENTORS.
    7 - You must be 18 years of age or older to comment.
    If you have a question or problem with this, please feel free to email me (there is a link to my email above).


30 Responses

  1. My heart and sincere prayers go out to her family and close friends. I can only imagine the pain I would feel to loose someone in my intimate circle. The pain is hard now and I knew Tarika from a mutual friend. She was always smiling and full of life, and we always spoke to each other eventhough it took us forever to remember each other’s name. I know that she will truly be missed by those close to her, but her memories will live on. May God be with the family.

  2. this is terrible

  3. Things like this happen everyday but it doesnt really seem to hit home until its someone you actually know. I knew her from school Little Rock Central High and working at stein-mart together. She always carried a smile and a heart of gold. I can’t really say that there was a day she wasnt Smiling about something. She will be missed and my heart goes out to all those who knew and will miss her.

  4. I remember Tarika back in elementary school. She was one of my closest friends. I also new her in high school. I hate that this happened. She was a lovely young lady and will be truly missed.

  5. when are the funeral arrangements…i would like a date, time, and place

    thanks

  6. Thank You for all of your prayers the family is dealing with this tragic event one day at a time. The funeral will be held at St Mark Baptist Church in Little Rock, AR on Friday January 12, 2007 at 11 am. If you need direction or have additional questions you can e-mail me at shundolyne@yahoo.com.

    Thanks

  7. this is tragic. Tarika we love you always, and we WILL see you again one day. LOVE ALWAYS

  8. Tarika positvely touched a lot of people in her life. From her caring personality to her infectious smile that I remembered all the way back from Henderson Jr. High she will be deeply missed but admirably remembered…on behalf of the people she’s touched now located around the world, we love you.

  9. The world has lost a great person. All my love goes out to her family and she will be missed.

  10. Betty and Ron I just heard about what happened, my heart goes out to your entire family. Tarika was a beautiful young lady, and I know she will be missed

  11. Tarika was my second grade student – that year was my first year teaching. I will never forget her smile, sucking her thumb, and just being purely innocent. This was also the year when Mrs. Taylor went to Saudi Arabia and there was a closer bond that Tarika and I shared (Mrs. Taylor thought enough of me to bring me back a souvenir in which I keep in my curio). Mr. & Mrs. Taylor were the most loving and memorable parents that any teacher could ever have. I visited Tarika in the hospital after her automobile accident, and the last thing she shared with me was “Ms. Washington I love you.”
    Surely Tarika will missed, but we must only look to the Lord for our strength and answers. It will definitely be a daily struggle for the family to deal with; so we must remember to keep the parents, other relatives and close friends in our prayers. God Bless ALL!

  12. im gonna miss u. TSU memorial servise. next weds. 12-1 pm. 615-573-9228 my name is nick. im helping with the memmorial. if any questions or anwers are needed, please give me a call.

  13. As one of Tarikas close friends I have to say, Tarika will never be forgotten. We all still think about her everyday. We all love her and miss her more than words can say. We all lost a part of our lives when Tarika was taken from this world. It is still hard to digest. We would give anything in this world just to hear her voice, touch her hand and/or even give her a hug. Please value and treat your loved ones well. You never know when a link of your chain will be gone. We love and miss you so much and we look forward to seeing you again in heaven. AND we know you and Theo is acting a fool together so be good up there and don’t get into too much trouble.

  14. Why did ths happen? Does anyone know?

  15. I love my dear friend tarika, and i truly miss her, but thanks to the relationship that i have with the family, its gettin better to cope with things, I love u tarika, happy birthday, and watch over lil tarika. love jade.

  16. OK WHO IS LIL TARIKA? WAS SHE A MOM?

  17. Hello all I was just thinking about our Tarika and started searching for information online about her and found this website. Not that I wanted to re-live the day, which happened on my birthday, but just wanted to let her know I was thinking about her…it still haven’t hit me that she is now in heaven. For those of you who didn’t get a chance to meet Tarika Taylor missed out on a great opportunity of knowing the sweetest, and the most adorable person that GOD could ever create. The last time I saw Tarika was at my moms house back in 01 in Little Rock AR. we were giving my dad a bar-b-que and her and her cousin Jessica pulled up out the blue and like always Tarika was smiling from ear to ear. Tarika then jumped out the car and said I want some food to!!!! (I cant remember her ever turning down food!!!!) She was always welcomed by everyone and of course she fixed her a plate and hung out for a while with us. I hate that I hadn’t seen her in over 6yrs but the last time I saw her has always stuck with me. I could always see her smiling when I would think of her. She is greatly missed and will never be forgotten. I LOVE YOU TARIKA S. TAYLOR

  18. I LOVE MY ANTIE TARIKA SHE WAS SUCH A GOOD PERSON AND DID NOT DESERVE TO GO THA WAY SHE DID….TARIKA I LOVE U AND U WILL ALWAYS BE REMEMBERED……YOUR OLDEST NIECE TT……. I LOVE U TARIKA……..

  19. To who ever curious is Lil tarika is Jade Easter’s baby that is named after her, that let me know that you didn’t know her very well. Anyway to my dear tarika, i miss you and i can’t believe that it’s been a year since the last time i saw you. Today has been very hard for me, but you and lil tarika get me thru. I talked to ur mom quite often, and that always help. when tha rest of the crew get home, we gone take lil tarika over to see ur parents. I love and miss you girl
    Happy Thanksgiving
    thank-you for being a friend to me. Look over lil tarika and Jada.

  20. Hey Tarika
    This past weekend me and your mom was just sitting around the house looking at some of your old pictures…We all miss you so much but we know that you are in a better place watching over us. Yes a year is coming up and its still hard to accept it but in due time we all will be able to look back and laugh about the good times we all had with you. Until we meet again I want you to know that I love you and miss you dearly. Keep smiling and acting silly because I know thats what you are doing up there!!!! I Love you

  21. Hey Tarika
    I was just thinking about you and wanted to let you know that I love and miss you dearly..its still hard to believe it but watching your cd with your pictures on it is what keeps me going. Continue to watch over us and WE all miss you so much but will keep your spirit alive forever.

    LOVE YOU SIS

  22. I dont know who this young lady was but I’m from Nashville. And I read and saw her story and to the person going by the name of curious it was very disrespectful to ask question while family and friends are obviously trying to grieve. I am sorry for the families loss. I just read the story and it touch my heart because all too often the young and beautiful are taken from loved ones due to senseless violence.

  23. hey Tarika! This nivea and i went to jr high with tarika i also use to see her around the corner from moneika’s house she was real and she was always cool wit me. its sad how everything went down and she will be missed

  24. Happy Birthday Tarika!!! Missing you and luv you so much. Love Kita Bug:)

  25. Dear Tarika,

    Well, it has been almost three years and I have just built the courage to even inquire about this tragic event. It’s not a day that I go by and miss you. You were such a wonderful human being. You had this wonderful personality and great smile. When you walked in a room everyone wanted to know who you were. Not because you were tall, loud or flamboyant. You were just you, an angel that was sent here to impact so many lives. Day after day I sit and wonder what life would be like if you were still here to laugh with me, talk on the phone to, share my deepest secrets or just be there to be my friend and I get this really BIG lump in my throat and I want to cry, but I hear your voice and you say, “Girl don’t worry about me, I’m fine.” Even though you aren’t here to see how much my life has changed, I know that you are watching me. Sometimes I catch myself talking to you silently saying, “I know Tarika would find the good in this situation and make the best of it,” and so I go on with my life and try to raise my son thinking of you and how good you were with children. I pray that one day I will see you again and know that if I follow my heart as you did and love BIG, that God would always watch over me and my son. So this is my letter to you and for everyone that loved you to read, you were such a GREAT young woman and my life wouldn’t be where it is now if I hadn’t have met you. I LOVE YOU TARIKA, you were blood sister my mother never had. You are greatly missed.

    Love,

    Maria and Justin Vera

  26. Hey Tarika
    Was just thinking about you and because I know you are watching over me I just wanted to say hello and that you are truly missed and I will always keep that pretty smile in my heart..I love you and miss you so much.

  27. Hey Tarika
    Today is just one of many days that i sit back and wish we could ride, talk and share laughs. (something that we often did in HS). Even after we went our seperate ways and you moved to Nashville, when we did reunite when i moved to Nashville we were still true friends as if we never missed a beat. We could go months without talking but when we did, we shared so many things and our friendship was genuine. No matter how much time passed and the new people that came into your life you still was true. That is one of the things i loved about you. I truely miss your open heart, your smile, and you telling me to stop talking so fast when we shared our stories. I honored the fact that you felt you could come to me and know i would give you my honest opinion and it never hinderd our friendship. Just know that you have so many people that misses you and cannot wait to see you again. Love your friend Tay

  28. I met Tarika back in ’01 at the mall in Little Rock, AR. She was one of the most beautiful persons that I ever met. I will always cherish, and hold dear to my heart the times we shared together when you visited me in Memhis. I will miss you deeply, and my heart goes out to your loving family. “Hey Jackie”

    Love always

    Mike B “Memphis”

  29. I miss you so much cousin….I love you dearly…. I just get so upset sometimes that such a beautiful hearted person like you had to go so soon…so sudden….(tear) I love you…I miss you…and I will see you again… watch over my little ones for me…I wish you could have met them…they both have your upbeat personality….love you cousin….cant say that enough….

    Your cousin,
    Ronitia Greer

  30. I miss you baby cousin. You often visit me in my dreams. It’s like you never left and I’ll love you forever.

    Amber

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,528 other followers

